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Notification of Rights Under FERPA for Elementary and Secondary Institutions

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford parents and students over 18 years of
age ("eligible students") certain rights with respect to the student's education records. They are:

(1) The right to inspect and review the student's education records within 45 days of the day the District
receives a request for access.

Parents or eligible students should submit to the school principal (or appropriate school official) a written
request that identifies the record(s) they wish to inspect. The principal will make arrangements for access
and notify the parent or eligible student of the time and place where the records may be inspected.

(2) The right to request the amendment of the student’s education records that they believe is inaccurate
or misleading. They should write the school principal, clearly identify the part of the record they want
changed and specify why it is inaccurate or misleading.

If the District decides not to amend the record as requested by the parent or eligible student, the District
will notify the parent or eligible student of the decision and advise them of their right to a hearing
regarding the request for amendment. Additional information regarding the hearing procedures will be
provided to the parent or eligible student when notified of the right to a hearing.

(3) The right to consent to disclosures of personally identifiable information contained in the student’s
education records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without consent.

One exception, which permits disclosure without consent, is disclosure to school officials with legitimate
educational interest. A school official is a person employed by the District as an administrator,
supervisor, instructor, or support staff member (including health or medical staff and law enforcement unit
personnel); a person serving on the School Board; a person or company with whom the District has
contracted to perform a special task (such as an attorney, auditor, medical consultant, or therapist); or a
parent or student serving on an official committee, such as a disciplinary or grievance committee, or
assisting another school official in performing his or her tasks.

A school official has a legitimate educational interest if the official needs to review an education record in
order to fulfill his or her professional responsibility.

Upon request, the District discloses education records without consent to officials of another school
district to make a reasonable attempt to notify the student of the records request unless it states in its
annual notification that it intends to forward records on request.

(4) The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the
District to comply with the requirements of FERPA. The name and address of the Office that administers
FERPA are:

Family Policy Compliance Office, U.S. Department of Education, 600 Independence Avenue, SW,
Washington, DC 20202-4605

(NOTE: In addition, a school may want to include its directory information public notice, as required by
s99.37 of the regulations, with its annual notification or rights under FERPA).



WESP-DHH Long Range Plan

Mission
To provide comprehensive education and support services to all Wisconsin children who are deaf, hard of
hearing, and deaf-blind, their families, and their service providers.

Vision
The programs of WESP-DHH utilize evidence based practices and seamless supports, services and
resources to enable all children to achieve their maximum academic, social, and emotional potential in
their respective environments.

Values
Student Centered: We support and foster the development of the whole child, including physical,
intellectual, emotional, and social abilities.
Diversity: We embrace the diverse needs of the student and their families, respecting varied
communication styles and preferences, family dynamics, cultures, creeds, religious preferences, identity,
race, and ethnicities.
Service: We strive to serve as a first point of contact for families, service providers, and the community,
providing a complete spectrum of resources, supports, and services, with expertise in the field of
deafness.
Excellence: We pursue excellence, using evidence based practices, provided by experts in the field of
hearing loss.
Collaboration: We work in partnership with parents, school districts, Birth to 3 programs, service
providers, and other hearing loss-related entities, organizations and agencies, as well as programs within
WESP-DHH to ensure seamless provision of services in a timely manner.

WESP-DHH Long Range Goals:

1.Region/Center/Satellite: To establish a comprehensive program that includes regional centers in
addition to WSD, in order to provide resources and services by highly skilled professionals to all
people involved with the education of children who are deaf, hard of hearing, and deaf-blind in
Wisconsin.

2.Technology: To use contemporary and emerging technologies to access and facilitate
communication and as a teaching tool for students, families, and professionals.

3.Vocational/Post-secondary readiness: To develop, expand upon or enhance current transition
programs for children who are deaf, hard of hearing and deaf-blind in Wisconsin by providing
vocational and post-secondary readiness training.

4.Diversity: To address diverse cultural, ethnic, communication modality, and disability needs of
Wisconsin’s children who are deaf, hard of hearing and deaf-blind.

5.Internal/External communications: To increase an understanding (both within and outside of WESP)
of the WESP-DHH programs and goals.

6.Birth to 3: To strive to service the needs of children with hearing loss as early as possible to ensure
they receive information and services they need to reach linguistic milestones, and be on par with
their peers, as much as possible.

7.Whole Child: To increase knowledge and awareness of the academic, social, and emotional needs
of students who are deaf, hard of hearing, and deaf-blind.

8.Deaf Adult Role Models: To foster and provide opportunities for children who are deaf or hard of
hearing to interact with deaf or hard of hearing adults who serve as mentors and role models.

9.Curriculum Development: To adapt WSD curriculum as a resource to support local LEA’s as well as
to provide targeted professional development and information on “best practices” in order to
enhance the skills and abilities of individuals serving students who are deaf, hard of hearing, and
deaf-blind.

10. Parent/Parent Education: To foster family involvement in the education of their child who is deaf,
hard of hearing, and/or deaf-blind.



WSD Mission

In recognition of the diverse needs of Wisconsin’s deaf and hard of hearing children, the Wisconsin
School for the Deaf is dedicated to educational excellence in a unique ASL/English bilingual-bicultural
environment by preparing students to achieve their maximum potential and become successful citizens of
the future.

VISION

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf is dedicated to educational excellence for Wisconsin’s deaf and hard
of hearing children.

BELIEFS

We believe the Wisconsin School for the Deaf is unique because it provides:
Opportunities for on-site and mainstream public educational programming.
A comprehensive curricular/extracurricular program tailored to meet the needs of deaf/hard of hearing children.
A Deaf Studies curriculum integrated into the PreK-12 program.
A variety of quality resources to support statewide outreach programming.
A comprehensive campus wide independent living skills program.
American Sign Language, the visual and natural language of deaf children.

A 24 hour American Sign Language immersion environment which promotes incidental learning.
Research shows that up to 80% of language acquisition is the result of incidental learning

Exposure to a large proportion of deaf and hard of hearing role models to include alumni.

Deaf and hard of hearing children with opportunities to develop social/emotional skills through interaction with a
significant number of other deaf/hard of hearing children.

Staff who are fully competent in American Sign Language.

An innovative Bilingual-Bicultural environment and strategies for instruction.

Cultural opportunities for children to interact with the greater hearing and deaf communities.

A fully accessible campus where deaf people are the majority.

A residential living program.

A process for developing English literacy through American Sign Language and English in its written form.

Children with an opportunity to acquire speech and speech reading skills.

Reasonable accommodations when auditory means of communication, including the use of assistive listening
devices, is required or desired.

GOALS

A) WSD is a model school for deaf children.

B) WSD is recognized for excellence in:
A well-developed all around student body.
Educational technology advancement.
Innovation and improvement.

Skilled professional staff.

C) WSD staff have fluent sign communication skills with established ASL proficiency,
assessment and training.

D) WSD has a cohesive campus community.
E) WSD has open, clear and timely communication.

F) WSD has a comprehensive curriculum in terms of scope and sequence.



Introduction

We have tried to make this handbook "user friendly" with a simple approach, so that it is more readable
for our students and parents.

However, some topics are very complex and will need clarification by staff assigned to students in both
the residence hall and at school. It is understood that consistent with their individual needs and IEPs,
some students will need additional or individualized assistance to meet guidelines established in this
handbook.

Copies of this handbook will be made available to every student, family, and local education agency.
WSD also reviews its written policies annually. When appropriate we update the policies provided in this
handbook.

If corrections or additions to this handbook are made during the school year, we will send you the new
pages. Each year you will receive an updated handbook.

We welcome your input. If there are items that you feel are not clear or need to be included, address
such input to the office of the Director.

Marla B. Walsh

Interim Director

Wisconsin School for the Deaf

Wisconsin Educational Services Program for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing



CAMPUS WIDE SECTION

RIGHTS

As a citizen and student of WSD, you are guaranteed certain rights. These rights are classified as:

Educational Rights

The law guarantees you the following:
A. Right to a free and appropriate public education. You can receive special education and related
services at public expense, under public supervision and direction, and without charge.

B. Right to the least restrictive environment. You can receive your education in a school that can meet
your needs and let you participate in class and after school activities equally with other students.

C. Right to due process. You/your parents or guardian have the right to request a due process hearing
(meeting) when there is disagreement about the identification, evaluation, proposed IEP or part of the
IEP, educational placement, or provision of free appropriate public education. You also have the right to
due process for issues related to equal opportunity and equal access.

D. Right to confidentiality. Only you, your parents and staff members who work with you may look at
your school files. Information you share with staff will be kept confidential UNLESS IT IS ABOUT A
DANGEROUS OR ILLEGAL SITUATION. If you share information about a dangerous or illegal situation,
staff must report that information to appropriate people/agencies to protect you or others.

E. Right to non-discrimination. You will receive equal treatment and opportunities to participate in
school and after school activities. You cannot be denied participation because of gender (boy or girl),
race, creed, religious belief, sexual orientation, pregnancy, marital or parental status, or mental, physical,
emotional or learning disability.

School and Residence Hall Rights

A. Freedom of expression (communication: signing, talking, use of social media tools, etc.). WSD
supports your right to say how you feel about a subject as long as it does not interfere with the rights of
others. Verbal harassment and profanity (dirty talk and swearing) are not acceptable.

B. Right to know. To work well in school and in the student life program, you must know what is
expected of you. You have the right to know the requirements to pass each subject, to graduate, to
participate in activities, and you have the right to know school and student life program rules. If you do not
know these things, you have the right and responsibility to ask any teacher or child care counselor to
explain.

C. Right to fair evaluation (testing, grading). It is your right to be tested, graded, and placed fairly. Your
teacher should explain when and how you are tested and graded. If you don't understand how testing is
done, please ask.

D. Freedom of association. You have the right to choose your own friends and to join groups of your
own choice. These friends and groups may be in school or in the residential hall.

E. Right to peaceful assembly. You have the right to assemble with other students for peaceful
purposes.




Personal Rights

A) Individual Dignity.
Every person has the right to be treated with respect. Treat every individual the way you want to be
treated.

1)Sexual Harassment. Sexual harassment is unacceptable behavior at WSD. If something
frightening, unpleasant, or illegal is happening in school or in the residence hall students/parents
should notify a staff member at once so action can be taken to stop this behavior. Such behavior
may result in school consequences, social services and/or the police being contacted.

2)Physical and verbal (includes signed) abuse or harassment. Physical and verbal harassment,
including hazing and bullying, is unacceptable behavior at WSD. If something frightening,
unpleasant, or illegal is happening in school or in the residence hall, students/ parents should
notify a staff member at once so action can be taken to stop this behavior. Such behavior may
result in school consequences, social services and/or the police being contacted. Hazing is
totally unacceptable.

B) Dress Code.

1. Students are expected to dress in a manner that is neat and appropriate for school or work.

2. Students may not wear clothing that disrupts the educational process.

3. NO baggy pants; pants should be size appropriate and worn at the waist and with a belt when
necessary.

4. Holes revealing skin through the jeans are not to exceed two (2) inches in diameter. Non-skin
revealing holes may begin after mid-thigh to ankle.

5. NO hats/head covers, head rags (i.e. stocking caps, satin-type or hairdo covers, "do-rags",
etc.) unless related to religious, cultural, or medical reasons.

6. Clothing, jewelry, and personal items (backpacks, fanny packs, gym bags, water bottles, etc.)
with writing or pictures that are crude, gang related, vulgar, profane or sexually suggestive, or that contain
drug, alcohol or tobacco company advertising, promotions and likenesses, or that advocate a racial,
ethnic or religious prejudice are strictly prohibited.

7. Clothing that bears logos, insignia, letters or colors signifying a gang, a crew, violent actions or
weapons will not be tolerated.

8. All tops (shirts and blouses) must cover the entire top of the shoulder and completely cover
the stomach, chest and back. NO bare midriffs. Tank top shoulder straps exceeding two fingers width
may be allowed. No bras should be showing.

9. Shorts and skirts must be size appropriate. Shorts or skirts bottoms must reach the mid-thigh.
Tight fitting shorts, short shorts and cutoffs are prohibited. Elementary girls should wear shorts under
skirts/dresses.

10. No see-through shirts/blouses, no halter tops, spaghetti strap (cami) tank tops, tube tops,
undershirts, muscle shirts, low cut shirts or other tops that expose the midriff or chest.

11. Appropriate footwear must always be worn. Designated classes such as Science, Home
Improvement, Work Study, and Physical Education may require additional clothing such as close toe
shoes.

12. NO underclothing may be worn as outerwear. NO sleepwear may be worn as school
clothing.

13. NO sunglasses may be worn inside school buildings or classrooms. Medical conditions will
be honored.

Students are expected to use good judgment and select clothing appropriate to weather conditions.
Elementary and Middle school students are required to wear coats and may not wear shorts after
November 1* and before April 1. High School students need to have their vest, hoodie or jacket with
them after November 1% and before April 1.

The school/dorm staff reserve the right to exclude items of apparel or accessories which are deemed

harmful, detrimental to the health, safety, or physical well-being of students, damaging to physical
facilities, or disruptive to normal school activities.
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Students who do not follow the guidelines will be required to report to the principal's office when
inappropriate choices have been made. Further decision regarding appropriate wear will be made at the
Principal’s discretion. Additionally, middle school students and high school students will receive a
maximum of one 30 minute detention per day for not following the dress code. Baggy pants below the
waist may earn additional detention time. Students may receive additional consequences for non-
compliant behavior or unacceptable attitude toward the staff enforcing the dress code.

DIRECTORY DATA/INFORMATION

In order to assist schools in planning for school activities, the Wisconsin School for the Deaf has
designated certain student information as directory data/information.

A. Directory Data/Information

1. The following personally identifiable data/information contained in a student's educational records
shall be considered as directory information:

a. Student's name;
b. Age;
) Grade level;

A W

) Dates of attendance;

[¢)]

) Participation in officially recognized activities and sports;

(2]

) Weights and heights of members of athletic teams;

~

) Student’s photograph
) Student’s LEA of residence;

9) Recognitions, honors, and awards received.

o

B) Parents and eligible students will be notified annually of the Wisconsin School for the Deaf’s
Policies and Procedures relating to directory data/information as outlined in this policy.

C) Parents and eligible students may request that no directory data/information may be released by
completing a Student Directory Information Withhold form. This form is included in the annual
enroliment package.

a. This form must be submitted to the student's school office within fourteen (14) days of the annual
notification of rights (receipt of enroliment forms).

b. Such directory data /information relating to the student will not be released without prior written
consent of the parent or eligible student.

c. The authorization to withhold directory data/information will remain in effect until the beginning of
the next school year, or until the parent or eligible student completes the Request to Publish
Directory Information form and submits it to the student's school office. The Request to Publish
Directory Information is available from the Superintendent’s office.

d. A copy of the Request to Withhold/Publish Directory Information Form will be placed in the
student’s cumulative file. The student’s name will be placed in WSD’s electronic report system
indicating the student’s status regarding withholding or releasing this information.

D) Directory data/information relating to students no longer in attendance in the District will not be
released if a parent of a student or an adult student has indicated that such information shall not be
released in the year preceding the year in which the student has left the District.

This provision does not apply to the transfer of students to other schools.

E) Unless an authorization to withhold directory data/information has been signed by the parent or
eligible student, directory data/information may be released by WSD only when it relates to
educational activities, school-related functions or has a legitimate educational purpose.

ASSUMING RESPONSIBILITY
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As a WSD student, you are expected to:

Know or ask questions about WSD policies and procedures.

Respect and obey WSD rules. Follow the Matrix for each assigned area.
Accept the consequences for your actions, behaviors, decisions and choices.
Learn from criticism when you are wrong; grow from praise when you are right.
Respect the views and opinions of other people, even when you don't agree.

Keep your bedroom clean and do your part to keep common areas (lounges, lobbies, school halls, etc.)
clean and in good condition.

Take good care of school and residence hall furniture and other property.
Respect other people - teachers, staff, peers and visitors as well as yourself.
Show mature and appropriate behavior on and off campus.

Represent your school in a positive way by cooperating with others and offering help to those who need
it.

Improve yourself through participation in class, after school activities, and sports.
Use self-control and ask for help when necessary.

Protect your belongings by keeping your money locked in your room or CCC office, and report vandalism,
theft, or suspicious behavior.

HOW TO TRY AND CHANGE THE RULES

If you think a school or residence hall rule is not fair, we strongly encourage you to discuss the following
rules in an appropriate manner and listen to other points of view.

Here is the right way to try to change it:
1. Classroom rules - Talk to your teacher about the rule.
Student Life rules - Talk to your CCC-3 about the rule.
School Wide rules — Talk to your designated student body Government representative.

2. If the teacher or CCC-3 cannot help, you may talk to the Principal, Deans of Students, or your
Student Body Government representative.
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3. Requests for rule changes will be presented to your appropriate grade level board for their
consideration (i.e. Middle School, and High School) and recommendations will be made to the Director.

4. Please remember that all requests will not be approved. We will try our best to honor each and every
request.

MISCELLANEOUS PHONE NUMBERS

The following is a list of campus phone numbers: All numbers are V/TTY unless otherwise listed. The
following school personnel are usually available from 7:30 a.m. until 4:15 p.m.

WESP-DHH Director’s Office 262-740-2066

Student Life Office (Residence Hall) 262-728-7191

Dean of Students 262-728-7136

Assistant Dean of Students 262-725-0522 (VP)

Director of Pupil Services/Principal 262-728-7131 (V)
262-725-0260 (VP)

Director of Curriculum and Instruction 262-728-7105

Athletic Director 262-725-0528

Audiologist 262-728-7131

Health Center 262-728-7144 (V/TTY) or 262-728-7168 (Fax)
262-725-0251 (VP)
262-394-1217 (VP)
262-749-6733 (Cell Phone)

Parent Library Loan System 262-728-7158

Parent Staff Association Contact 262-740-2066

Parent Video Tape Loan System 262-728-7127 \l/

School Psychologist 262-728-7131
262-724-8177 (VP)

School Guidance Counselor 262-728-7131
262-725-0148 (VP)

Behavior Specialist (School) 262-728-7131
262-806-3710 (VP)

Behavior Specialist (Dorm) 262-728-7179

262-725-0475 (VP)

The following residence hall personnel are usually available from 2:30 p.m. until 11:00 p.m.
Elementary Floors

Elementary Child Care Counselor 3 262-728-7111 (V/TTY)
262-725-0112 (VP)
B-3 262-724-8175 (VP)
G-3 262-724-8176 (VP)
Middle School Floors
Middle School Child Care Counselor 3 262-728-7111 (VITTY)
262-725-0112 (VP)
B-3 262-724-8175 (VP)
G-3 262-724-8176 (VP)
High School Floors
High School Child Care Counselor 3 262-728-7111 (VITTY)
262-725-0112 (VP)
B-4 262-724-8171 (VP)
G-4 262-724-8173 (VP)
Social Worker (Residence Hall) 262-725-0527 (VP)
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SCHOOL BUILDING ACCESS

In maintaining a safe school environment, access to school buildings during the school day is restricted to
the front entrance of Chesebro Hall. Ring bell/flashing lights in foyer to gain access to the Chesebro
Great Hall. Report directly to the school office. All other entry ways will be locked.

VISITOR POLICY

Parents, family members, and other visitors are always welcome at WSD. Please register at the
Administration Office. After 4:30 PM please register at the area you are visiting. While on campus,
please wear a Visitors Pass.

When planning your visit to WSD please contact the school or residence hall in advance as the child you
want to visit may be scheduled to be off campus for an activity. Visitors during school hours must be

approved by the principal and require being accompanied by a WSD staff person if a background

check has not been conducted in advance (DPI Policy).

Visitors wishing to bring pets into the residential hall must have prior permission from the Deans of
Students. Many of the students living in the residential hall have allergies to pets. Visitors bringing pets
without permission will be asked to remove their pets from campus.

Visitors will not be permitted in the cafeteria unless approved by the Deans of Students, Principal,
or Director ahead of time. During mealtime visitors may not stay in the residence hall unless staff is
present.

WSD requests that visitors other than parents and family members adhere to the following:

Visitors will leave campus at 7:00 p.m. unless there is an evening activity such as a play or sporting
event. Visitors are expected to leave campus within a half-hour after evening events are completed.
Visitors must have the principal’s permission in writing to visit during school hours. Visitors who wish to
take a student off campus will require parental signed release forms dictating dates/events. An email may
be considered a release form only with a confirmed phone call.

Court orders are needed on file at WSD when custody or restraining orders prevent visits.
Any visitors wishing to stay past the above listed times must have permission from the Deans or CCC-3’s
require being accompanied by a WSD staff person if a background check has not been conducted in

advance (DPI Policy). The Deans of Students and CCC-3s may ask visitors to leave at any time.

Those who are on the persona non grata list are not allowed to touch campus for any reason. Should you
be on this list, please contact the Director of WESP-DHH.

STUDENT ATTENDANCE POLICY

REPORTING ABSENCES

Parents must call the school’s Student Attendance Coordinator everyday their child is absent unless a planned
absence form has been submitted. You can contact her by using the following numbers to report when a
student is absent and the reason why. For residential student, the same information is needed and the
expected time and means of return to school. (If the student is 18, they can call in for themselves.)

Phonel/tty: 262-728-7105 VP: 262-725-0451 Text: 262-749-6739
Email: joan.knowlton@wsd.k12.wi.us

In the event that no call was made to school, the Student Attendance Coordinator will call the parent or
guardian for an explanation of the student’s absence.
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Students who arrive to class 1-15 minutes late to class are considered tardy. Students who arrive to class more
than 15 minutes into the period are considered absent that period. When a student misses 3 to 6 periods of a
day, they will be considered having a half day absence. If it is more than 6 periods of a day, it will be
considered a full day absence.

Students will be allowed a maximum of 10 days of absence during the school year. Students exceeding the
allotted 10 days may jeopardize their promotion to the next grade level. (See WSD Promotion Policy.) Medical
absences of more than 3 days will require a doctor’s excuse to be submitted to the attendance office.

EXCESSIVE ABSENTEEISM/TRUANCY

We will maintain daily records about student attendance as required by state codes and rules and will contact
parents if we have not heard from them regarding a student’s absence. We will report student absences on
quarterly grade reports. In the event of excessive absences, we will notify the parent or guardian and the LEA
after the 5™, 10", and 15" day of absence for one academic year in writing.

According to Wisconsin Statues, Section 118.16(1)c — 118.16(2)(cg), truancy is defined as:

A student is considered truant if he or she is absent without an acceptable excuse for all or part of one or more
days during which school is held. By the end of the second day following an unexcused absence, the school
must notify the resident LEA and the parent(s) or guardian(s), and direct the parent(s) or guardian(s) to either
return the student to school or provide an excuse in writing. Notice must be attempted by personal contact or
telephone call first, and may also be made by mail if a personal call or personal contact is unsuccessful.

A student is habitually truant when he or she is absent without an acceptable excuse all or part of five or more
days in a school semester. If a student is habitually truant, the school must notify the parent(s) or guardian(s)
and the resident LEA that the student is habitually truant in a manner consistent with Wisconsin Statute section
118.16(2)(cg).

EXCUSED ABSENCES

* lliness of the student (doctor’s verification may be required)

* Death in the family or family emergency

* Court appearances

* Observance of religious holiday

* Disciplinary action or short-term suspensions

* Medical/dental appointments

* College/post-secondary visitations

* Family vacation

» Other absences that may be excused only at the discretion of the Principal, and with appropriate
documentation

UNEXCUSED ABSENCES

* Missing a regularly scheduled bus is an unexcused absence. It is the parent’s responsibility to
find transportation to school if the bus was missed.(One per semester will be excused.)

* Oversleeping

e Shopping trips

* Babysitting

e Staying home to do homework

* Personal business

* Remaining out of school because student or parent feels it is all right to do so

* Going to bed late because of extracurricular activity

* Anything other than the excused absences
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PLANNED ABSENCES

Wisconsin State Law (s.118.15) does not approve students extended absences for vacations or other personal
family business. WSD has provided for such absences since WSD students come from various school districts
and those districts’ recess schedules often differ from that of WSD. WSD's policy encourages family vacations
and we recognize that educational opportunities can often be derived from travel experiences. However,
specific guidelines must be followed by students and their families to consider an extended absence to be
excused:
* Planned absences of one day or more must be pre-arranged one or more weeks in advance of
the student’s absence. This involves submitting a “Planned Absence Form” or other written
and signed notification to the Student Attendance Coordinator one or more weeks in advance
of the student’s absence from school. Planned absences not arranged following this procedure
will be considered unexcused. (The "Planned Absence Form” is located in the Appendix of this
handbook or on the WSD First Class email system).
e Students leaving school for absences requested by parents/guardians during the school day
must sign out in the principal’s office or with the CCC on their floor during residential hours.
Students must also sign in upon their return.
e Students will be allowed a maximum of 10 days of absence during the school year. Students
exceeding the allotted 10 days may jeopardize their promotion to the next grade level. (See
WSD Promotion Policy).

Any questions about planned absences you can call the Student Attendance Coordinator at 262-728-7105
V/TTY. Extended planned absences for medical reasons should also be reported to the Health Center at 262-
728-7144 VITTY.

SIGN IN/OUT PROCEDURES

As the safety and security of our students are among our most important responsibilities, it is necessary to sign
out when leaving campus. Students will be released only to parents/guardians, or other properly authorized
individuals. These procedures allow us to account for the whereabouts of our students at all times. Please
follow the sign out procedures below:

DURING THE SCHOOL DAY (7:45am to 3:15pm)
Parents/guardians or others picking up children from school must sign him/her out. You can do this by visiting
the principal’s office and informing the secretary of your plans and signing out the student on the computer.

DURING THE RESIDENTIAL HOURS (3:15pm to 8:00am)
Parents/guardians or others picking up their children should check in with the CCC for their child's floor. The
student or parents will sign out in the floor CCC office.

* If the student arrives late to school, the student and parent must accompany the student to the
principal’s office and sign in. If a student will arrive alone, the parent/guardian must inform the
attendance office of the late arrival.

* If the student will depart from school early, parent/guardian must inform the attendance office
in advance of the early departure. If the student will be picked up from the dorm, the dorm and
the attendance office need to be informed of this in advance and to the reason why.

MAKE-UP WORK DUE TO ABSENCE

In accordance with State Law, all students will be able to make up missed work due to an absence, excused
and/or unexcused, and shall be graded upon the quality of the work. Students shall have the number of days
absent to complete this work i.e. three consecutive absences, work must be completed in three school days.
An extension of time may be given in special cases at the discretion of the teacher. Work not completed within
the specified period will receive a grade of zero. Students are to arrange for work prior to their scheduled
absence. It is the student’s responsibility to keep track of their absences and to ask each teacher for make-up
work.
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DURING OFF CAMPUS ACTIVITIES (ATHLETICS, FIELD TRIPS, ETC.)

Advance notification should be given when parents/guardians or others plan to pick up a student during or
after a school sponsored off campus activity. Please be sure to inform the teacher/CCC/sponsor or other
staff when you are leaving the activity area with your child.

Extended planned absences for medical reasons should be handled through the Health Center.

Assignments for these students may be handled in a different manner. (See Planned Absence Form in
the appendix).
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CAMPUS-WIDE POSITIVE BEHAVIORAL INTERVENTION AND SUPPORT
PROGRAM

WSD’s campus-wide disciplinary program follows the Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports
(PBIS) model. PBIS is a systemic approach to proactive, campus-wide discipline that applies evidence-
based practices and strategies for all students to increase academic performance, improve safety,
decrease problem behavior, and establish a positive school culture. This approach focuses on “catching
the child being good,” utilizing “teachable moments,” redirection, and acknowledging accomplishments as
opposed to a punitive format. Negative consequences are built into the program, but the emphasis is on
positive outcomes.

There are three levels of PBIS:

1. Universal Supports:

WSD adheres to the following campus-wide behavioral expectations:

SAFE CARING

RESPONSIBLE RESPECTFUL

Each behavioral expectation is defined into specific desirable behaviors necessary in each campus
environment (dorm floors/classrooms/halls/etc.). Desirable behaviors are taught, re-taught when
necessary, modeled, and reinforced. You will see the matrix (chart) below in all WSD environments. It
will include WSD universal desirable behaviors in the first two columns and the desirable behaviors
specific to each environment in the last two columns.

FIREBIRD PROMISE

Campus Environment Name Here

SAFE Keep hands, Use all WSD/ Desirable Desirable
feet, objects, and | personal behaviors behaviors
negative equipment, specific to specific to
comments to property, and campus campus
yourself. items correctly. environment. environment.

CARING Report to staff Be polite, honest, | Desirable Desirable
any safety and helpful. behaviors behaviors
concerns. specific to specific to

campus campus
environment. environment.

RESPONSIBLE Comply with staff | Accept Desirable Desirable
requests the first | responsibility for | behaviors behaviors
time asked. your behavior specific to specific to

and mistakes. campus campus
environment. environment.

RESPECTFUL Use ASL for Be on time for Desirable Desirable
accessible classes, behaviors behaviors
communication schedules, specific to specific to
following Bi-Bi appointments, campus campus
philosophy. efc. environment. environment.
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Students are reinforced throughout WSD’s campus with verbal praise, Firebird coupons, and other
positive reinforcements unique to the various campus environments. Students accumulate Firebird
coupons for displaying positive behavioral expectations. Firebird coupons are redeemable for items in
the Firebird Store, the FBC canteen, the sporting events canteens, or for other items or privileges.

Special activities are planned in the dorm and in school for students who demonstrate exemplary
behavior or noticeable improvement. Rewards may vary in frequency and type based on individual and
group needs or preferences. Positive reinforcements can range from primary through extended privileges
and special recognition as well as simple verbal praise. Quarterly reinforcements will be enjoyed by
those students who earn them for displaying overall positive behavior. Dorm reinforcement requires the
completion of one community service activity prior to the end of each quarter.

Parents will receive a letter from the Principal to share the “Good News” when students turn in
accumulated coupons for positive reinforcements.

2. Supplemental Supports:

When universal supports do not adequately meet the needs of the behavior challenges presented by a
student or group of students, supplemental supports are designed to address those behavioral
challenges. Supplemental supports for these students include, but are not limited to, individual/group
counseling, social skills classes, re-teaching of skills and behavioral expectations, and more frequent
recognition of success.

3. Intensive Supports:

When the universal and supplemental supports are not adequate to meet the behavioral challenges of an
individual student, intensive supports are designed by a team for these high-need students. These
supports include, but are not limited to, Behavior Intervention Plans (BIPs), special classroom and
dormitory floor placements, individual/group counseling, community mental health services/medical
interventions as arranged by the student’s parents, Pupil Services Team interventions, as well as the
WSD Crisis Team interventions.

In case of suicide threats, member of the pupil service team will investigate and report their findings.
Should suicide intervention be warranted to determine a student is safe, parents will be notified while
student remains in school. Should the suicide intervention warrant additional resources, parents will be
contacted and given a choice to pick up their child or the child be transported to the local human service
agency and/or hospital. The IEP team will re-open the IEP to address safety measures for additional
support and documentation

SECLUSION AND RESTRAINT POLICY

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf has instructors trained from the Crisis Prevention Institute (CPI) in
Brookfield, Wisconsin to provide for the Care, Welfare, Safety and Security of the students and staff at
our facility. All direct contact staff have been trained in CPI's Nonviolent Crisis Prevention Intervention
techniques which emphasize providing positive supports for students to de-escalate their anxiety and
tensions, provide problem solving, and bring each student to a better place emotionally, thereby
preventing the child from entering a crisis state.

Direct contact staff at WSD has been trained in recognizing the levels of behavior present in a crisis
experience and the appropriate responses to those behaviors. These responses are intended to diffuse
the anxiety and defensiveness experienced by the student, thus preventing a crisis, and providing
alternate solutions to the child’s problem. However, no matter how well trained the staff; sometimes the
child loses all rational control and becomes what is known as an “acting out person” or AOP.

The NCPI approach also uses Nonviolent Physical Intervention techniques when a level of behavior
exhibited by a student requires the removal of others in the room or area to provide for their safety. Often
the removal of the audience provides an opportunity for the student to calm down, and regain composure.
However, when they do not, only as a last resort is the Nonviolent Physical Intervention applied. These
techniques parallel the Directives for Restraint and Seclusion mandated by the Wisconsin Department of
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Public Instruction (DPI) and 115.787 (2) (i) and 118.305 of the Wisconsin statutes. Nonviolent Physical
Intervention is used only as a last resort when all other verbal and environmental interventions have failed
and the child becomes an AOP.

It is our intention not to put our hands on students when they are in crisis. Thus, educational or
residential time may be lost waiting for a student to make appropriate choices as opposed to forcing them
to follow directives. Students in middle school and high school that pose a threat to the safety of
themselves or others, or who intentionally cause harm to staff or students, will have police contact made
immediately. If a middle school or high school student becomes an AOP prior to the arrival to the police,
the NCPI trained instructors will deal directly with the student to insure the Care, Welfare, Safety and
Security of everyone involved.

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf aims to provide an environment that is friendly, safe, educational,
caring and meaningful for every child. We take that responsibility very seriously. In order to do so for
every child and adult in our facility, we are dedicated to providing for the Care, Welfare, Safety and
Security of everyone.

When seclusion (removal from classroom, detention, suspension, and timeouts) and/or restraint
techniques are used on campus, parents and the school district will be notified.

DISCIPLINARY CONSEQUENCES

Problem behaviors are corrected with redirection and re-teaching of behavioral expectations and
providing prompts to encourage positive behaviors.

However, sometimes after students have learned the correct behavioral expectations, they may choose
not to apply their knowledge and ignore/break rules. When this happens, these students are interfering
with the rights of other students, staff, and programs. These students will be disciplined. When they are
disciplined, our goal is for them to understand:

1. The student (you) can make a better choice next time.
2. The student (you) will be reminded of your choice that you made.
3. Staff will have taught and will again teach the student (you) the correct choices to make next time.

A student has the right to tell his/her side of the story to the school staff before discipline is determined.
When the student and/or parents disagree with the discipline issued, they have the right to talk to the
Principal, Deans, or Director about the action.

SCHOOL CONSEQUENCES

Homework Detention for Upper Elementary and Middle School Students ONLY

Homework detentions are given when students do not complete their assignment by the due date given.
The student is given a supervised lunch detention and reports to an assigned area to complete his/her
assignments. This detention is not counted as a behavioral infraction. Attention is paid, however, to
repeat offenders in order to determine the cause for failure to complete assignments within a timely
manner. Students refusing to complete their assignments, or who have forgotten their assignments on
purpose are given behavioral detentions which are served after school.

Homework detention will not be given to high school students. High School students arriving to class with
unfinished homework will earn a zero.

30 Minute Detention — Tardiness

Students will receive an automatic 30-minute detention for school tardiness when arriving to class without
an excused permit. When it appears that a student will be tardy for class, a permit must be written
by/obtained from the staff member holding the student for a conference, the health center, or the office.
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The permit will state if the student is to be excused or will be unexcused, thus indicating the need for the
receiving teacher to issue a 30-minute detention. Tardy detentions will also be issued for visiting during
class breaks causing restroom use to be an excuse for tardiness, or arriving to class as the bell rings and
requesting the use of the restroom unless the student has received an excused permit from the sending
staff member. Three minutes are allowed between each class. This is ample time to attend to personal
needs, such as the restroom. Social opportunities are provided at WSD which negates the need for
excessive visiting during hall times.

Students must have a pink slip or hall pass to be in the halls during class time. No pink slip or hall pass
will incur 30 minute detention.

Detentions — Behavioral Infractions

¢ Redirection

Students will receive detentions for breaking classroom rules. Students are given “a name” on the board
when a behavioral expectation infraction occurs. The staff person in charge of the activity will restate the
desired behavioral expectation and continue with the activity. No further consequence is given.

* Re-Teaching Conference

Should the student whose name is on the board continue to misbehave, the student will be given a check
mark after his/lher name. This check indicates a need for re-teaching of behavioral expectations. A
conference between the staff member and the student will be held that day as scheduled by the staff
person. The student will be given a slip of paper indicating that he/she must attend a conference with the
staff person to re-teach behavioral expectations. Failure to attend this conference will result in a 30
minute detention.

¢ 30 Minute Detention Issued

Once a student’s name and one check has been written on the board for redirection and a rule infraction,
indicating the need for re-teaching, another check mark will be placed next to his/her name if
inappropriate behavior continues. A second check indicates a 30 minute detention. The student will report
to the detention area after the re-teaching conference has been successfully completed.

¢ 60 Minute Detention Issued

A third check is a 60-minute detention which the student will report to after successfully completing a
conference with the teacher. Students will complete emails or letters to their parents indicating the
reason for their misbehavior during their detention. If inappropriate behaviors continue within the same
class period, the student is removed from the classroom to the office.

Students requiring immediate removal from class to the Principal’s office due to severe behaviors will
automatically receive either a 60-minute detention from the Principal or other discipline as determined
appropriate by the Principal.

Modified Detention Program for Lower Elementary Students:

Lower Elementary Consequences:

(1) Name on Board = warning

(2) Name and Check = re-teaching
(3) Name and two Checks = 10 minute detention
(4) Name and three Checks = 20 minute detention

Detention Policies:

1. Detention begins once the student arrives in the detention area. The student will be given a permit
(pink slip) once his/her detention has been completed for dismissal to the dorm. When the entire
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detention time cannot be served in one day, the student will return to the detention area to complete
his/her time the next day the student attends school.

2. During detention, students must inform their parents the reason they received the detention, who
gave them the detention, and how long (30 or 60 minutes) a detention they must serve. Detention
monitors will assist students to inform their parents by email, or other means necessary. The Principal
and designated parties are copied (cc) in these emails. The Principal will send follow-up letters to parents
and LEAs inform them of each detention administered to their child.

3. Lower elementary students will serve their detentions during 10" period recess. Day students will
serve their detentions during lunch time unless arrangements are made with the parents for after school
pick up. Students will email or write letters to their parents/guardians in detention indicating the reason for
their misbehavior.

4. Students who refuse to attend detention will have their detention time doubled. When a student
accumulates 240 minutes of un-served detention time within a quarter, the student will serve %2 day of in-
school suspension. Students cooperating during in-school suspension will be excused prior to lunch
instead of eating lunch in the |.S.S. area. The second and third accumulations of 240 minutes of un-
served detention time within a quarter, the student will serve a full day of in-school suspension for each.
Finally, a fourth un-served detention accumulating 240 minutes within a quarter will result in home
suspension. Parents will receive a letter each time their child is placed in detention or in-school
suspension.

5. Students who receive six or more detentions in a quarter will have a behavioral staffing to address
PBIS modifications needed for the student. Should this modification prove ineffective, the IEP will be
reopened to address an individualized behavior program to be added to the student’s IEP.

6. In the fall, detentions will be given starting the first day of school for all students.

7. Detentions will be given and served during the last week of school. Detentions not completed at this
time will be held over until the first week of school the following year.

8. Students may request postponement of a detention to attend after school activities or field trips.
Postponement of detentions will be at the principal’s discretion, with no more than 3 postponements per
student per year.

9. Students receiving detentions prior to leaving for a field trip (Brewers Game, for example) will not
attend the trip in order to serve the detention after school, if the trip departs prior to completion of the
detention. Therefore, students must follow behavioral expectations to participate in field trips! In certain
circumstances, field trip fees cannot be refunded.

10. Students will begin with a clean slate at the start of each quarter. A detention or resulting suspension

from un-served detentions may be carried over from one quarter to another if circumstances do not permit
completion within the quarter the consequences were earned.

In-School Suspension:

Students may be placed into in-school suspension for severe behaviors by the Principal and/or
disciplinary team. While students are in the in-school suspension room, they will be given work to make-
up work from missed classes to turn in the following day. Make-up assignments will be collected and
delivered to ISS.
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1. If students are removed from class to the suspension room, length of time served is determined by the
principal and/or disciplinary team.

2. Postponements of in-school suspensions and home suspensions will not be considered.

3. Teachers are required to provide work for students in ISS. When students have completed their
assignments, they will be given appropriate social skill assignments to complete instead.

4. Students placed in ISS by the principal as a result of being removed from class or for zero tolerance
behaviors are subject to home suspension at the principal’s discretion at any time.

5. Students will be placed in in-school suspension when awaiting departure to serve a home suspension.

6. The Principal will send letters to parents and LEAs informing them of each in-school suspension
administered to their child.

Modified In-School Suspension for Elementary students:

Lower Elementary:
Name and four Checks = sent to principal’s office, one period of in-school suspension.
Zero tolerance = 2 day of in-school suspension or home suspension

Upper Elementary:

Name and four Checks = sent to principal’s office, two periods of in-school suspension
Zero tolerance = % or full day of in-school suspension or home suspension

Home Suspension:

Students whose behavior warrants home suspension may be assigned up to five days suspension as
determined by the principal.

1. Length of suspension will be determined on an incident-by-incident basis. The consequence will be
appropriate to the severity of the share of blame in the incident. The parent will be notified to pick up the
student.

Homework should be collected prior to the leave for suspension. Students will be permitted the same
number of days as accrued in the suspension to complete their assignments. At that time, incomplete
assignments will earn a zero.

2. A member of the WSD Disciplinary Team will make immediate contact with parents and LEAs
concerning home suspensions. The Principal will send a follow-up letter to parents and LEAs informing
them of each home suspension administered to their child. This letter will include information about the
scheduling of a re-entry meeting.

3. During the home suspension, a re-entry meeting (preferably in person) will take place as arranged by
the school psychologist, with the student, parent, LEA representative, pupil service team member, case
manager, dorm staff and respective administrator in preparation for return to school. Re-entry meetings
will include discussion of the student’s behavior, review of his/her IEP, and possibly a manifestation
determination. Individualized behavior plans may be warranted as a result of the IEP review. Re-entry
meetings are necessary to insure supports are in place to assist the student in addressing his/her
behavior issues.

4. When seclusion (removal from classroom, detention, suspension, time-outs) and/or restraint
techniques are used on campus, parents and the school district will be notified.

DORM CONSEQUENCES

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf Student Life Staff has the goal of establishing an atmosphere
throughout the residential program which will ensure children feel safe, secure, and happy and in addition
have the opportunity to mature and grow into independent, responsible young adults.
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Natural Consequences:

The program specifies rules that cover the behaviors we expect from our students on their assigned floor.
The program also states that students who break the rules will receive natural consequences that directly
relate to the unacceptable behavior; such consequences may include loss of specific privileges. Students
who follow the rules will maintain program privileges that have been established for them. Privileges and

consequences are determined following PBIS guidelines.

In-Dorm Suspension:

1. Students may be placed into in-dorm suspension or home suspension for severe behaviors at the
discretion of the CCC3s, Behavior Specialist, and the Deans of Students. While students are in the in-
dorm suspension room, they will be given the opportunity to do homework. It is the student’s
responsibility, however, to bring the work and necessary items with them to the IDS area.

2. Students placed in IDS by the administration as a result for zero tolerance behaviors are subject to
home suspension at the administrator’s discretion at any time. Home Suspensions require a re-entry
meeting.

Postponements of in-dorm suspensions and home suspensions will not be considered.

3. The Deans of Students or the Behavior Specialist will send letters to parents and LEAs informing them
of each in-dorm suspension administered to their child.

Home Suspension:

1. Students whose behavior warrants home suspension may be assigned up to five days suspension as
determined by the Deans of Students.

2. The Deans of Students will make immediate contact with parents concerning home suspensions. A
follow up letter will be sent to parents and LEAs informing them of each home suspension administered to
their child. The school psychologist will contact necessary persons with information about the scheduling
of a re-entry meeting.

3. Length of suspension will be determined on an incident-by-incident basis. The consequence will be
appropriate to the severity of the share of blame in the incident. The parent will be notified to pick up the
student.

4. During the home suspension, a re-entry meeting (preferably in person) will take place with the student,
parent, LEA representative, pupil service team member, case manager, and respective administrator in
preparation for return to school. Re-entry meetings will include discussion of the student’s behavior,
review of his/her IEP, and possibly a manifestation determination. Individualized behavior plans may be
warranted as a result of the IEP review. Re-entry meetings are necessary to insure supports are in place
to assist the student in addressing his/her behavior issues.

ZERO TOLERANCE BEHAVIORS

Wisconsin School for the Deaf will continue to provide zero tolerance/bullying assemblies at least twice a
year. All students are mandated to attend these assemblies. Failure to attend these assemblies will
warrant a follow up from a pupil service team member.

Students exhibiting zero tolerance rule violations will receive suspensions along with other possible
interventions or consequences. The school Director has empowered the Deans of Students and Director
of Pupil Services/Principal to act on his behalf for behavior that warrants suspension. The behaviors
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identified below are unacceptable and will not be tolerated. Such activities may result in counseling, loss
of privileges, disciplinary action, suspension and/or referral to the police for law/ordinance violations.

ZERO TOLERANCE

FIREBIRD PROMISE

SAFE

No person will possess, give, sell, buy
or use illegal drugs, alcohol, harmful
substances, look-alike drugs, or
paraphernalia. All prescription and non-
prescription medications will be kept in
the WSD health center.

No person will possess a firearm,
explosive, firecracker, knife, lighters,
or any other weapon on campus or at
school related events. Look-alike toy
weapons are permitted only with
direct adult supervision.

CARING

No person will discriminate against
others on the basis of sex, race, color,
religion, national origin, ancestry, creed,
pregnancy, age, sexual
orientation/preference, marital or
parental status or disability.

No person will take, or remove
personal or school property without
permission. Theft/stealing is against
the law.

RESPONSIBLE

No person will engage in action that
breaks laws or ordinances of the US,
WI, or city of Delavan.

No person will gamble in any form on
campus.

RESPECTFUL

No person will engage in sexual
contact between individuals with or
without consent. No person will
possess/view pornographic sites,
magazines, books, videos, pictures, or
other materials.

No person will physically and/or
verbally abuse, bully or harass
another individual or individuals.
Hazing is totally unacceptable.

1. Physical aggression, bullying or physically threatening behavior:

will result in immediate removal from the classroom and/or residence hall. Depending on the nature of
the incident, a student may receive a consequence ranging in severity from a detention to a suspension

for up to five days and/or police contact. If a student becomes physically aggressive and/or threatens the

safety of themselves or others, WSD Crisis Team staff trained in Non-violent Crisis Prevention

Intervention techniques will assist the child in regaining composure and control.

The use of approved

physical restraint by trained, certified staff may be necessary to prevent injury to the student or other
individuals in the environment. Physical restraint holds are used only as a last resort and follow the
Wisconsin DPI directives for seclusion and restraint.

2. WSD will search rooms, lockers, and vehicles:

parked on campus at any time if WSD believes the health, safety, welfare, or security of the students and

staff members are threatened. WSD will also use room, locker & vehicle searches on campus for illegal
substance or look alike drugs as defined by state law including the use of drug sniffing dogs from the
Walworth County Sheriff's Department. Searches may be campus-wide.

3. Boyfriend/girlfriend relationships:

are restricted to the same grade level departments (high school with high school, middle school with

middle school). Elementary students are encouraged to develop age appropriate friendships only. Dating
between high school and middle school students is not permitted under WSD supervision. Should middle

school and high school show interest in dating each other, staff should notify parents as a courtesy.
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Students are expected to respect the requests of staff/adults to refrain from excessive displays of
affection. Non-compliance to such a request will result in an appropriate consequence.

4. All staff members are mandated reporters:

of suspected child maltreatment or sexual contact, consensual or otherwise, occurring on or off campus,
to social services and law enforcement. If the parent is not the suspected abuser, PST will notify the
parents.

5. WSD is a tobacco free environment:

Students who are 18 years old and older may use tobacco products off campus only before and after
school and during lunch recess with permission. Eligible students will keep tobacco products/lighters in
the high school and/or dorm floor office. Eligible students will use the East driveway entrance. Wisconsin
state laws forbid people under the age of 18 to use any tobacco products. The local police department
may fine users under 18. Eligible persons who provide tobacco to minors will face an appropriate
disciplinary action and will be reported to the police.

Disciplinary guidelines assist staff to maintain consistency in administering discipline to students. These
guidelines are explained to students each year to insure that students know and understand these
guidelines. Additionally, by signing and returning the receipt form in the back of this handbook, parents
acknowledge understanding of the WSD Positive Behavioral Intervention and Supports program and the
discipline policies outlined above.

BULLYING POLICY

Introduction

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf strives to provide a safe, secure and respectful learning environment
for all students in school buildings, on school grounds, and school buses and at school-sponsored
activities. Bullying has a harmful social, physical, psychological and academic impact on bullies, victims
and bystanders. The school district consistently and vigorously addresses bullying so that there is no
disruption to the learning environment and learning process.

Wisconsin School for the Deaf will continue to provide zero tolerance/bullying assemblies at least twice a
year. All students are mandated to attend these assemblies. Failure to attend these assemblies will
warrant a follow up from a pupil service team member.

Definition

Bullying is deliberate or intentional behavior using words or actions, intended to cause fear, intimidation or
harm. Bullying may be repeated behavior and involves an imbalance of power. The behavior may be
motivated by an actual or perceived distinguishing characteristic, such as, but not limited to: age; national
origin; race; ethnicity; religion; gender; gender identity; sexual orientation; physical attributes; physical or
mental ability or disability; and social, economic or family status.

Bullying behavior can be:
1. Physical (e.g. assault, hitting or punching, kicking, theft, threatening behavior)

2. Verbal (e.g. threatening or intimidating language, teasing or name-calling, racist remarks)

3. Indirect (e.g. spreading cruel rumors, intimidation through gestures, social exclusion and sending
insulting messages or pictures by mobile phone, videophone, using the internet or other
technological devices — also known as cyber bullying)

Prohibition

Bullying behavior is prohibited in all schools, buildings, property, technological devices, and educational
environments, including any property or vehicle owned, leased or used by the school. This includes public
transportation regularly used by students to go to and from school. Educational environments include, but
are not limited to, every activity under school supervision.
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Procedure for Reporting/Retaliation

All school staff members and school officials who observe or become aware of acts of bullying are
required to report these acts to Marla Walsh, WSD Principal/Director of Pupil Services, or Polly Slappey,
WSD Behavior Specialist.

Any other person, including a student who is either a victim of the bullying or is aware of the bullying or
any other concerned individual is encouraged to report the conduct to any member of the WSD staff.

Reports of bullying may be made verbally or in writing and may be made confidentially. All such reports,
whether verbal or in writing, will be taken seriously and a clear account of the incident is to be
documented. A written record of the report, including all pertinent details, will be made by the investigator
of the report.

Any school campus official receiving a report of bullying shall immediately investigate the report. Should
difficulty ensue, staff should notify a school campus employee to follow up with the investigation of the
report. The following school employees have been identified as the second-tier investigators and/or
disciplinary team:

Administration

Principal

Behavior Specialist

School Psychologist

Social Workers

School Guidance Counselor
Psychological Services Assistants

There shall be no retaliation against individuals making such reports. Individuals engaging in retaliatory
behavior will be subject to disciplinary action on a case by case basis.

Procedure for investigating reports of bullying

The persons assigned by the school, athletic staff, ECA staff and/or dorm to conduct an investigation of
the bullying report shall, within one school day, interview the person(s) who are the victim(s) of the
bullying and collect whatever other information is necessary to determine the facts and the seriousness of
the report. Should the situation warrant further investigation, tier-two reporters will be notified.

Parents and/or guardians of each pupil involved in the bullying will be notified prior to the conclusion of
the investigation. The district shall maintain the confidentiality of the report and any related pupil records
to the extent required by law.

Sanctions and supports

If it is determined that students participated in bullying behavior or retaliated against anyone due to the
reporting of bullying behavior, the school administration may take disciplinary action, including but not
limited to: suspension, expulsion and/or referral to law enforcement officials for possible legal action as
appropriate. Pupil services staff will provide support for the identified victim(s).

Disclosure and Public Reporting

The policy will be distributed annually to all students enrolled at the Wisconsin School for the Deaf, their
parents and/or guardians and employees. It will also be distributed to organizations in the community
having cooperative agreements with the schools. The WSD will also provide a copy of the policy to any
person who requests it.

Records will be maintained on the number and types of reports made, and sanctions imposed for
incidents found to be in violation of the bullying policy.

An annual summary report shall be prepared which includes trends in bullying behavior and

recommendations on how to further reduce bullying behavior. The annual report will be available to the
public.
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NOTIFICATION OF BEHAVIOR RECORDS

Each school district must adopt rules specifying the content of pupil records and how long pupil records
will be maintained. A student’s progress records must be maintained for at least five years after student
ceases to be enrolled. Please note this is a minimum retention period, Wis. Stat. sec 118. 125(3).

A student’s behavioral records may be maintained no longer than one year after the student graduates or
otherwise ceases to be enrolled, unless the parent or adult student specifies in writing that the records
may be maintained for a longer period of time. Please note this guidelines is permissive maximum period
of time these records may be maintained, Wis Stat. sec. 118 125(3). See question #34 related to
retention of special education records for audit purposes.

SCHOOL SECTION

Academic Awards

Students at all grade levels will be recognized during quarterly academic awards programs. Recognition
will be given to High Honors, Honor Roll, Perfect Attendance, and Positive Behavior students.

Academic Honesty Policy

Cheating and plagiarism are not permitted and will earn consequences.
Cheating will receive an automatic zero for the assignment. Additional consequences may be decided by
the classroom teacher.

For plagiarism, student will earn a Zero for the assignment that they were caught plagiarizing.
* Elementary and middle school teachers will decide appropriate consequences.

* High school students will be required as determined by their high school teacher to write a paper or
present verbally to their class regarding their academic dishonesty. If a high school student
plagiarizes a second time, the student will receive a zero in that class for the entire quarter.

Cell Phones, Smartphones, and other Communication Devices

Cell phones, Smartphone’s, and other such devices may not be used during the school day with the
exception of the 7th period lunch. Cell phones may not be used in the hallways during breaks. Student
can use their phones before school, at lunch, and after school only. These devices may be accessed
during the lunch period for high school students only. These items should be stored out of sight or they
will be confiscated and turned in to the school office. Students may request return of these devices at the
end of the school day. Students who do not comply with these rules will be given an appropriate
consequence.

Classroom teachers may utilize these devices with students in the classroom for educational purposes
only. In order to leave the classroom during the class period, the student must turn over the phone to the
teacher.

Selfies and the use of video communication (videophone/FaceTime/etc.) must not include other students
in the background without their consent or knowledge. When taking a selfie, the student must be
considerate of the property of Wisconsin School for the Deaf. Neutral backgrounds are strongly
encouraged in order to avoid potential ramifications/consequences of using school/dorm property or
student/staff without their consent.
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Curricular Offerings

Students at WSD have the opportunity to enroll in classes that meet their individual needs. These classes
are available in the academic, vocational, and adaptive education areas.

In addition to the classes offered at WSD, student may participate in mainstreaming opportunities offered
through the Delavan-Darien school district or high school students may participate in classes offered
through the Youth Options Program. Both sites provide interpreters, however, there is a fee charged to
the school’s home school district for mainstreaming participation. Fees are based on the numbers of
classes the student enrolls in.

Appropriateness of WSD students attending other schools will be determined at the student’s IEP
meeting. A student who is considering mainstreaming or the Youth Options program must contact the
high school guidance counselor to discuss options, course offerings, and deadlines for registration.

Distractions

In emergency situations, WSD staff will assist students with calls. Distracting items (phones, pagers,
headphones, radios, laser lights, or other) will not be allowed into classrooms. Distracting items brought
to school will be confiscated and returned to students at the principal’s discretion. Confiscated items will
be kept in the school office. Skateboards or skates are not allowed during school hours.

H.S. students must use library hall to gain access to science rooms or vocational building. High School
students are not allowed in the middle school lower Pie Hall. In order to gain access to the vocational
building, high school students are still not allowed in the middle school lower Pie building hallway and
must route through the library.

Driver’s Education

Driver’'s education is offered as an elective with sophomores receiving priority placement into the class.
WSD collaborates with CESA 2 in providing instruction by a WSD teacher using the CESA 2 driver’s
education online curriculum. The cost for the online course is $175.00 payable to CESA 2. Upon
payment, CESA 2 provides access to the curriculum via a password assigned to the student, parent, and
WSD driver’s education teacher. Students complete this online curriculum daily during the WSD class
period appearing on the student’s schedule. WSD'’s driver’s education teacher provides additional
classroom instruction, monitoring online test taking, facilitating the steps to completing the course,
application for instructional permits, and assisting with arrangements for behind the wheel instruction.
Students wishing to schedule behind the wheel with CESA 2 can do so for an additional fee of $250.00
payable to CESA 2. All CESA 2 online driver education instruction requirements and procedures are
strictly followed.

Electronic Devices on Field Trips

Use of radios, cell phones, Smartphone’s or other electronic devices is not permitted on field trips unless
approved by the Principal or Deans of Students. Students may use non-phone cameras on trips provided
they are used appropriately.

Elevators

Students must receive prior authorization from the school staff to use the school elevators.

Exam Policy
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Planned absences are not permitted during exam days. Teachers administer semester exams during the
final class periods of each semester. The weight of exam grades in calculation of quarter and semester
grades will be shared with students prior to administering of exams.

Fees

For all students that are accepted (placement at WSD has been determined) at WSD, student fees are
collected during Registration Day and various points in time during the school year.

Be prepared, upon registration or enrollment/acceptance to WSD, to pay the following accounts (cash or
check). This fee is non-refundable and pays for items, such as those listed below, which are not provided
by state funds:

Extracurricular activity costs (organizations, clubs, etc.)

Wisconsin Times Subscription

Athletic Pass (funds used to purchase student awards, hire officials, and cover miscellaneous
expenses. The fee also permits students to attend WSD athletic events without having to purchase
individual tickets)

Physical Education shirts and shorts

Small shop activities

Home Economics projects

Hearing aid batteries, cords, etc.

Total: $115.00 ($57.50 for PK & K students) payable to WSD

(If you are unable to pay the fee all at once — the business office will work with you to arrange payments)

Final Exams

All high school students in grades 9 through 12 will take semester exams. These exams will contain
cumulative course content for each semester. Final exams will be administered during the regularly
schedule class period at the end of each semester.

Fundraising

Fund raising projects on campus shall be limited to WSD fundraisers only. Staff sponsors must complete

the fundraising form and submit to their supervisor for approval. Approved fundraising events will be
added to the fundraising calendar.

Grading Policy

The WSD grading policy adheres to the following grade values:
A+ 97-100%

A 94-96%
A-  90-93%
B+ 87-89%
B 84-86%
B- 80-83%
C+ 77-719%
Cc 74-76%
C- 70-73%
D+ 67-69%
D 64-66%
D- 60-63%

F 59% and below
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Homework Completion Policy

All homework assignment must be completed and turned in on time. Upper elementary and middle
school students arriving to class with unfinished homework will be given a homework lunch detention
supervised by academic staff. High School students arriving to class with unfinished homework will earn
a zero. It is your responsibility to do your very best in all of your schoolwork and tests.

Locker Policy

High school students will be given one locker to maintain for the duration of their high school years. It is
their responsibility to take care of the same locker throughout their high school years. They will be given a
lock and a combination code to remember. The lock must be on the locker. The padlock cannot be
removed or stored in a safe place. Should they forget the combination, they will communicate with the
office secretary. Their lockers are subject to locker searches per zero tolerance behavior policy. Should
a student require a locker change with a valid medical or personal reason, they will communicate with the
high school principal their request. The high school principal will have the final say on changing locker
placements prior to graduation. Upon graduation, the student will be responsible to clean out his/her
locker and turn in the lock to the secretary will be responsible for reimbursement of lost padlock or
personal damages to the locker. Unpaid fees resulting from locker or padlock damage may result in
withheld diploma until paid in full. Student may file a request to waive damages based on extenuating
circumstances. The high school principal will make the determination based on this request.

Mainstreaming

WSD also offers mainstream classes at Delavan-Darien elementary, middle school, or high school. If a
student desires to take one or more classes in the Delavan-Darien system they must have prior
agreement from their own school district. Delavan-Darien charges back to the home school district the
cost of interpreters and tuition. This cost varies depending on the overall number of WSD mainstreaming
students and the number of interpreters needed.

WSD offers this option because Delavan-Darien offers classes not offered at WSD and because some
students desire the option of attending part of the school day in a mainstream program.
Appropriateness of WSD students attending other schools will be determined at the student’s IEP
meeting. A student who is considering mainstreaming must contact the high school guidance counselor
to discuss options, course offerings, and deadlines for registration.

Peer Tutors

High school students who have 3.0 GPA or higher in a subject area may assist younger students in
understanding and completing their homework. This is scheduled on an as needed basis via the work
study coordinator.

Promotion Policy

In compliance with Wisconsin Statutes 118.30, WSD students must meet the following promotion criteria
to qualify for promotion from one grade level to the next.

1. Academic performance of a cumulative 2.0 grade point average (GPA) or better must be achieved in
grades 3 through 8. It is recommended that students in preschool through 2nd grade must achieve a
yearly average score of satisfactory or better in four or more of the six academic subject areas appearing
on their report cards. These scores will be calculated at the end of the 3rd quarter during the student’s
current school year. High school students must pass classes with a 60% or better to earn credit. Failure
to do so requires retake of courses to meet graduation credit requirements.
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2. Attendance of 170 school days or more during the current school year is required. This is the
equivalent of 10 days allowable absence during the school year. (See the WSD planned absence policy
for attendance/truancy explanations).

3. Increase in academic performance on at least one formal assessment (i.e. MAP, SBA, PALS, etc.).

Board Recommendations:

In the event a student does not meet all of the promotion requirements of the grade level for his/her
current school year, a student may still be eligible for promotion based on the recommendation of the
WSD department boards. The elementary, middle school, and high school department boards will meet
to discuss and determine recommendation for promotion of students from within their respective
departments. Adaptive Education Department staff will participate in board recommendations as
appropriate. Board recommendations will be based on majority ruling. When WSD promotion criteria
have not been met, the department board will consider the following performance indicators in
recommending promotion or retention.

1. Receipt of passing scores in specified subject areas.

2. Development of a portfolio that illustrates proficiency and growth.

3. Attainment of model academic standards.

4. Verification of student’s ability to be successful at the next level of education.

5. Testimony to a student’s success in class work, co-curricula’s, community service hours and
reflection.

6. Completion of a specified course of study through summer school.

Retention:

The purpose of retention is to correct a student who is academically unsuccessful resulting from low
achievement, poor attendance, lack of social and/or physical maturity, refusal to meet course/curriculum
requirements, or low motivation, with the goal of being potentially beneficial to the student being
considered.

In cases of retention, a meeting with the student’s parents and school district will occur to discuss the
basis of the retention. A retention documentation form will be completed and kept in the student’s
cumulative file.

Related Services

In addition to school classes, WSD offers other services to students. The services include school
psychology, guidance and counseling, school social work, social skills training, sign language, speech
and language, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and audiology.

Students may request services from any of the above areas. If a student is having a problem or needs to
talk with someone other than a teacher, CCC, or administrator, they may make an appointment with the
school psychologist, school guidance counselor, or school social worker. To make an appointment, see a
program assistant in the principal's office or the residence hall office. The program assistant will help you
make an appointment. The audiologist can help you with your hearing aids. You will need to make an
appointment with him. Please try to make your appointments during study hall or other non-class times.

Schedule Changes — Add/Drop

Classes may be added or dropped during the first two weeks of each semester. Students must meet with
both the school guidance counselor and the principal to determine the appropriateness and/or feasibility
of the request. Teacher and parent input will also be obtained. No changes will be made to students’
schedules after the second week of the semester. Schedule change requests will not be considered on a
quarterly basis.
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Scholarships

The WSD guidance counselor will post and publish all scholarship information obtained through the
guidance office and share this information with students in the Futures Planning classes. However,
students and parents are encouraged to actively pursue scholarship information from the WSD guidance
counselor, organizations, and internet sources. Unlimited scholarship possibilities exist upon student
initiative and application.

Students are selected for scholarships and awards by organizations based on completed application
information, interviews, and organization criteria.

NOTE - Please contact the school guidance counselor for any questions regarding scholarships.
Valedictorian & Salutatorian Selection Process:

A. Valedictorian GPA must be a 3.5 or above based on their four year record in high school. *
Salutatorian GPA must be a 3.0 or above based on their four year record in high school. *

B. The candidates will be of good character.

C. The candidates will demonstrate good citizenship.

D. The candidates will demonstrate school service and participation in school activities.

E. The candidates will demonstrate positive leadership.

F. A minimum of two of the four years of high school are required to be in attendance at WSD. Two
years of grades from a transferring school will be accepted in GPA calculations.

G. If there are more than one candidate that have met (A) and (B) listed above, there will only be one
valedictorian and one salutatorian selected by the High School Board.

* The guidance counselor will provide the High School Board with the names of students who qualify

by GPA for each honor no later than two weeks after the end of the 3rd quarter. The High School Board
will be responsible for final selections.

School Wide Assessments

Standardized tests are designed to measure academic achievement in core curricular areas. WSD
teachers administer a number of informal assessments to guide, monitor, and tailor instruction. Scores on
assessments (both formal and informal) are used among several criteria for advancing students from one
grade to the next. Other criteria include classroom academic performance, teacher recommendations
based on academic performance, and any other criteria as specified (see Promotion Policy — pg. 30).

Individual student’s IEP teams determine whether a student should participate in any of the required
formal assessments.

Federal Law as well as Wisconsin State Statutes requires students to be tested in certain areas at certain
grades.

Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening - PALS (grades 1 — 2)

Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening - PALS (grades 4k — K)

Aspire (9" grade)

Wisconsin Knowledge and Concepts Exam - WKCE/Wisconsin Alternate Assessment - WAA (Science &
SS; 4™, 8" 10th)

Access/ELL
ACT Plus Writing (11" grade)
ACT WorkKey (11" grade)

Smarter Balanced Assessment (ELA & Math; grades 3 — 8)
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Dynamic Learning Maps (ELA & Math; grades 3 — 8)
Aspire (9" & 10" grade)
PALS (grades 4K — 2)

MAP online assessment in the areas of English/Language Arts and Math:

Videophones and PAV Units

WSD has a number of videophones in both the school and dormitory for staff and student to use. In the
dorm, students must sign up for the videophone use. Students are allowed to use the school
videophones/PAV Units only at the discretion of the school Principal.

Work Study

Students may choose Work Study as an elective course after successful completion of the Employability
Skills class. Birth Certificate and Social Security are required for documentation purposes in order to
apply for Work Study. The following Work Study policy applies:

1. Students will earn .5 credits per successfully completed semester of Work Study.

2. The first quarter that a student is enrolled in Work Study will be classified as a “Job Shadow.”
Students will NOT be in paid status for this quarter. Students will receive both credit and pay for each
successfully completed quarter of Work Study following the “Job Shadow” quarter.

3. All Work Study students are required to complete 1,655 minutes of work per quarter. This amount
allows students to miss 5 periods of work per semester without having to make up missed work time. If
the student misses more than 5 periods of work for any reason, he/she will have to make up missed work
time on campus either before school, during the lunch period, or after school. Students are not permitted
to make up work time during study hall or other scheduled class periods. Students who do not make up
missed work time will receive a failing grade for Work Study and will not earn credit.

4. Students failing Work Study during one quarter will revert to “no pay” status for the following
quarter. They will remain in “no pay” status until they pass Work Study the following quarter.

5.1n the case work study occurs after school hours — the student living in the residential hall will be
responsible in coordinating transportation with the residential hall staff

6. Work study coordinators facilitate student completion of after school work approval form. This form
ensures work study coordinator, residential staff, principal, parents, and work supervisor are
aware of work activities, work location and transportation arrangement.

7. Student must complete and submit time sheets to work study coordinator.

Youth Options

WSD provides Youth Options class(es) for those interested. There is no fee charged to the parents for
their child’s participation as the Youth Options program pays tuition when approved by the school district.
For an application to this service, please contact the WSD IEP coordinator. This process must also be
approved through the IEP process and the home school district. The technical college charges the home
school district for the cost of interpreters.
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GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

In compliance with Wisconsin Statutes 118.30, DPI Policy IKF, and the Wisconsin Model Academic
Standards, WSD students must meet the following graduation criteria to qualify for the WSD diploma. The
WSD publication “WSD Program of Studies” is available for course descriptions and further explanation of
graduation requirements. Please call 262/728-7131 to request a copy from the WSD Guidance Office.

Students with excessive absenteeism must obtain permission from the
High School Advisory Board in order to graduate.

Student must pay off all student expenses (included but not limited to school fees, damages, or
athletic fees) in order to obtain graduation diploma. Students will still be eligible to march and
participate in graduation but will not receive their official diploma until all expenses are paid.

A. Credit requirements:

A student must accumulate a minimum of 24.5 credits to graduate from WSD. Individual student’s credit
information can be obtained from the WSD guidance counselor. Credits required to graduate with a WSD
diploma include:

AREA Credits 9" Grade 10™ Grade 11™ Grade 12" Grade
Required Class Credits | Class Credits | Class Credits Class Credits

LANGUAGE 8.0 Language Arts | Language Language Arts | Language Arts

ARTS 2.0 Arts 20 |20 2.0

HEALTH 0.5 Health 0.5

MATH 3.0 Math 1.0 Math 1.0 | Math 1.0

PHYSICAL 1.5 PE 1.0 PE 0.5

EDUCATION

SCIENCE 3.0 Science 1.0 | Science 1.0 | Science 1.0

SOCIAL 3.0 Social Studies Social Studies | Civics 0.5 | Social Studies

STUDIES 1.0 | 1.0 and Social 0.5
Studies 0.5 | (if not taken
(can be taken | junior year)
now or as a
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senior)
REQUIRED 5.5 Microsoft Employment Future’s Deaf Studies
COURSES Applications Skills 0.5 | Planning | 0.5 0.5
0.5 ASL Il 0.5
Investigating Consumer
Self Identity Education 1.0
1.0 Future’s
ASL | 0.5 Planning Il
0.5
ELECTIVES 0.0 Electives up to | Electives 2.0 | Electives 3.0 | Electives 3.0
2.0
TOTAL 24.5 8.0 8.0 8.0 8.0

Students who follow modified programming are required to complete only the required courses listed in
bold. The other required electives are addressed throughout other parts of their curriculum.

Some of the required electives are dependent upon a student receiving a WSD diploma. They will be reviewed
based upon when a student has joined WSD. This will be determined on an individual basis.

Students who wish to obtain their local school district diploma will have their credits reviewed by their local
school district. Diploma choice must be determined at the earliest IEP meeting during the student’s high school
program. Changes in diploma choice cannot be made after the student’s junior year, unless, approved by the
student’s IEP team.

Computer class is a state requirement and needs to be taken some time during high school for all students
regardless of which diploma they receive.

B. Academic Performance:

High school students must pass classes with a 60% or better to earn credit. Failure to do so requires
retake of courses to meet graduation credit requirements.

C. Attendance:

Attendance of 170 school days or more during the student’s senior school year is required. This is the
equivalent of 10 days allowable absence during the school year. (See the WSD planned absence policy
for attendance/truancy explanations). Parents must contact the school every day their child is absent at
home, unless a planned absence form has been submitted to the school. Students will be documented
as unexcused on school records when parent notification is not provided for absences.

D. Board Recommendations:

In the event a student does not meet all of the graduation requirements during the senior school year, a
student may still be eligible for graduation based on the recommendation of the WSD High School Board.
The High School Board recommendations will be based on majority ruling. Adaptive Education
Department staff will participate in board recommendations as appropriate. When WSD graduation
criteria have not been met, the HS Board will consider the following performance indicators in
recommending graduation or retention.

1. Receipt of passing scores in specified subject areas.

2. Development of a portfolio that illustrates proficiency and growth.

3. Attainment of model academic standards.

4. Testimony to a student’s success in class work, co-curricula’s, and community service hours as
well as reflection.

5. Completion of a specified course of study through summer school.

E. Community Service:
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Wisconsin School for the Deaf students are required to complete 32 hours of community service during
their 9" through 12" grades (prorated at 8 hours per high school year).

Students completing more than 32 community service hours will receive a gray cord to be worn at
graduation and a community service seal on their diploma.

Community service activities must be documented on the Community Service Verification Form (page 48)
and must contain the signature and contact information of the community representative supervising the
activity. Completed forms must be submitted to the WSD social worker for prior approval and final
verification. Cases of denial can be appealed to the High School Board. Activity requirements must:

a. directly benefit a community

b. be unpaid volunteer activities

c. approved by the WSD social worker

d. not be conducted under the supervision of a family member

Two weeks prior to graduation will be considered the deadline for completing all community
service hours and the community service reflection form. Student will not receive an official
diploma until all community service hours are verified and the reflection form is completed and
submitted.

Student must complete all community service hours and Community service reflection form in
order to obtain official graduation diploma.

Diploma Eligibility

A student who has not achieved WSD graduation policy criteria is ineligible for a WSD diploma. Such a
student may return to WSD until the age of 21 to receive remediation for low achievement, poor
attendance, lack of social and/or physical maturity, refusal to meet course/curriculum requirements, or low
motivation.

A meeting with the student’s parents and school district will occur to discuss the basis of the student’s
ineligibility for diploma. Documentation of ineligibility will be completed and kept in the student’s
cumulative file.

Students who wish to obtain their local school district diploma will have their credits reviewed by their
school district. Diploma choice cannot be made after the student’s junior year, unless approved by the
student’s IEP team.

Diploma Options

Students may opt to earn their home school district diploma rather than a WSD diploma while in
attendance at WSD. Should the student prefer to graduate with his or her own local school district
diploma, the student needs to meet the graduation requirements for their specific school district. The
decision to grant a local school district diploma is up to the local school district. Students will be required
to satisfy the graduation criteria identified in the school district graduation policy. Diploma choice must be
determined at the earliest IEP meeting during the student’s high school program. Changes in diploma
choice cannot be made after the student’s junior year, unless approved by the student’s IEP team. The
deadline for declaring pursuit of a WSD diploma is the end of the student’s junior year to allow for diploma
printing.

Participation in Graduation and Senior Activities

Students will only participate in the graduation ceremony and senior activities during the school year in
which they have met all the graduation requirements.

Students returning to WSD to attend the STAR program (Student Transition to Adult Real world) will have
already participated in their graduation and senior activities, although they may have not completed all
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their graduations requirements. They will not have received their diploma during the graduation
ceremony.

Behaviors including but not limited to excessive absenteeism may prevent students from participating in
the WSD graduation ceremony as determined by the HS Advisory board.

ATHLETICS/EXTRA CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES SECTION

Participation Policies

GPA will be calculated on a quarterly basis for all students in grades 6 through 12. Students who
maintain a GPA of 2.0 on a quarterly basis will be permitted to participate in athletics and extracurricular
activities. Students whose GPA'’s fall below the established 2.0 average at quarter’s ends are ineligible to
participate in athletic competitions or extracurricular activities for 10 consecutive school days. Students
improving their grades and raising their GPA to 2.0 or above during this 10 school day period may
resume participation in athletic competitions and extracurricular activities. Students not attaining the 2.0
GPA during the 10 school day period may not participate in athletics or extracurricular activities, in any
way, for the rest of the quarter. Eligibility can be reinstated with completion of certain summer school
requirements with prior approval from the Principal.

The individual coach, athletic director/club sponsor(s), principal, and/or director have the authority to
remove student(s) from participating in their respective activities based on attitude, cooperation and
behavior.

Students in the Adaptive Education Department or other students who are eligible for participation in
Special Olympics are not included in the above policy. Students in grades K-5 are eligible for extra-
curricular activities but are not held to grade requirements. Students participating in high school athletics
are governed by WIAA policies.

EXTRA CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES

High School Middle School Elementary

ASL Club ASL Club Drama Club

Drama Club Junior NAD Elementary Pep Club
Junior SBC Rhythm Club

Junior NAD Battle of the Books

Sign Song Dancers

Student Body Government

National Honor Society

Academic Bowl

Junior Class Activities
The Junior Class may not start fundraising until after the Graduating Class has
completed their project.

Senior Class Activities
Graduating CLASS DUES shall be set by each class. We encourage dues to be as reasonable as
possible. If a student WITHDRAWS, or is DISMISSED from school, he/she shall FORFEIT any claims
for reimbursement from class funds or dues. All students are expected to work cooperatively on class
projects. Students who do not fulfill class expectations may be denied class privileges. At the end of
the school year, all remaining funds in the Senior Class Treasury shall be turned over to the next
year’s graduating class.
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Prom Policy

The Junior Class, with their sponsors, will be the general “chairpersons” of the spring Prom. This R
group will select the location for the pre-prom dinner and prom, subject to the approval of the H.S. Board
and Director. The Junior class will determine the criteria to select King and Queen subject to the approval
of the H.S. Board and Director.

It is not acceptable for UNINVITED GUESTS to attend the prom. Every visitor is required to fill out a guest
pass policy (see Appendix) Parents of prom participants are cordially invited to attend. We prefer that
young children do not attend the prom as spectators with their parents. High school students are
encouraged to select their dates from among the WSD high school enroliment. Outside dates must be
approved in advance by the High School Board. Transportation to and from prom activities is provided by
WSD.

ATHLETICS

High School Middle School

Fall: Fall: @~
Football

Volleyball (girls)

Cheerleading

Winter: Winter:

Basketball (girls & boys)Basketball (girls & boys)

Cheerleading

Spring: Spring:
Track (girls & boys) Track (girls & boys)
All: All:
Special Olympics Special Olympic
Bowling Bowling
Basketball Basketball
Snowshoes Snowshoes
Track Track

Student participation in Extra Curricular Activities will be limited as follows:

1. Membership and participation is restricted to THREE clubs, organizations or athletic teams at any
given time. National Honor Society, Student Body Government and Junior or Senior Class memberships
are exempt unless the student holds a major office in these organizations.

2. One Major office (President, Secretary, or Treasurer) in one of the three.

Any student wishing to exceed the above limitations may petition the HS Board for exemptions. Students
must be on the recent Honor Roll to be eligible to petition, and if granted the exemption, he/she must
maintain Honor Roll status during the quarters involved or may be asked to resign. Students’ petitions
must include a listing of additional memberships/offices desired, reason for the request, and a supporting
statement related to their ability to handle all the responsibilities. The petition must be signed by the
sponsors/coaches of all the organizations/athletics in which the student will be participating in at the same
time.

Smoking or known drug usage will exempt students from

participation in WSD extracurricular activities. ( A"‘Q
g'

For the concussion policy and return to play form, see appendix.
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TRANSPORTATION TO & FROM HOME

DAY STUDENTS

LOCAL TRANSPORTATION DURING THE WEEK:

Day student/local transportation requires permission in order to visit a student, to change pick-up and/or
departure locations/times. Should a student wish to go over to another student’s house after school, both
parents must contact the school office with permission:

Phone: 262-728-7131 Text: 262-749-6742 Email: laura.barker@wsd.k12.wi.us

It is the parent’s responsibility to inform the school district and the bus company of any transportation changes.

LOCAL TRANSPORTATION FOR THE WEEKENDS:

Many times during the school year, your child will want to have a friend come to your house on the
weekend, or will be invited to another child’'s home for the weekend. In order for this to happen, the
school office needs permission from both parents consenting to this visitation. Consent from both parents
must be in the school office on the Wednesday morning before the Friday of the home-going. That way,
we can alert the appropriate transportation coordinators about any changes in arrangements. Also,
parents of day students are also responsible for calling their child’s bus company and let them know of
the changes as well. Please take into consideration that sometimes visitation may be denied to
insufficient resources to accommodate the request. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact
the school office for clarification.

Local students who wish to go over to a residential student’s house for the weekend, via a chartered
bus/plane, must submit a visiting permission form to the dorm transportation coordinator by 9:00 am,
Wednesday morning prior to the weekend visit.

Parents of local/day students are responsible to check with their local school district bus company to see if they
accept visitors to ride on the bus.

RESIDENTIAL STUDENTS

WEEKEND LONG BUS AND PLANE TRANSPORTATION:

When riding charter buses/planes, students are expected to arrive on time, behave and

cooperate fully with the chaperons. Obtaining parental permission to visit another
5?‘ student’s home is your responsibility. It is a requirement to provide visiting ‘
permission form, from both families, to the transportation coordinator by Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. prior to
the weekend of the visit. Visiting permissions (page 51) arriving later than this time may be denied.

Students may only visit other (current) WSD students.

We are aware that special situations arise and will consider each situation individually.
Visitation via chartered buses/airplanes is limited to bus/airplane capacity.
If your child will not be riding home or returning to WSD via chartered bus/plane, please inform the

transportation coordinator as soon as possible so that any necessary adjustments to the routes/stops can
be made.

TRANSPORTATION PHONE NUMBERS FOR HOMEGOING & RETURN DAYS

40



On Home going Days parents may contact the Student Life Office at 262-728-7191. The transportation
coordinator will be in the office until that last student arrives to their designated

2
destination safely.

On days students return to WSD parents may contact the Student Life “on call”
staff at 262-728-7164 from 10:30 am to 1:00 pm. Parents may contact the Jones Bus Company at
800-236-3160 (voice or relay service) from 12:30 until 7:00 p.m.)

NAME TAGS & THE BUS NAME ARE REQUIRED ON SUITCASES AT ALL TIMES

STUDENT LIFE SECTION

Right to Privacy

Since the residence hall is your "home away from home", you will be protected from "unreasonable”
searches of your rooms and taking of your personal belongings. However, the Deans of Students and
Child Care Counselors (CCCs) will inspect your rooms and closets to ensure cleanliness. Rooms, lockers,
and vehicles parked on campus will also be searched if there is reason to believe that there is stolen
property, illegal substances or dangerous articles in rooms, lockers, or vehicles. Such items, if found, will
be taken, secured and appropriate personnel notified.

In addition, WSD may bring drug-sniffing dogs to search your room, locker, or on-campus vehicle. WSD
will conduct random illegal substance searches with Walworth County Sheriff dogs. These searches will
cover the schoolhouse, dormitory, and parking lot.

ROOM DECORATIONS

Students are encouraged to decorate their residential hall rooms to make them more "home-like", but
certain restrictions are necessary for the health and safety of all students and the care of the building.
Posters of males or females being viewed as sexual objects or in violent or degrading acts, and posters
promoting substance use or abuse, or gang related material will not be allowed.

Objects hanging from the ceiling are prohibited due to the city fire code.

No changes will be made to any electrical device (i.e. no colored light bulbs, or black lights in overhead
fixtures). No window coverings will be permitted except for those installed by the school. No paper,
plastic or blankets will be placed on or over the windows. Beds and other furniture will be kept properly
assembled with headboards, and the backs of all furniture, against the walls. Students, also, may not
stack any furniture. Sheets are required on beds and sleeping bags are not allowed unless unzipped and
used as a blanket. Rooms will be kept neat and clean at all times.

Window screens are not allowed to be removed or opened.

S.P.I.C.E.

S=Social P=Physical I=Intellectual C=Communication E=Emotional

The mission of the student life program at WSD is to provide students with a safe, secure, monitored
living environment that promotes social/cultural, physical, intellectual, communication, and emotional
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growth. It shall also foster the development of independent living skills, academic achievement, and
barrier-free communication.

WSD takes pride in providing active learning opportunities for our students during and after school hours.
The goal of our independent living program is to encourage students to take responsibility for their
residential area as well as their own personal care and welfare.

We strive for students to gradually gain the independence and responsibility needed to become
successful, productive adults in their communities. To achieve this, we start working with the younger
students to develop self-esteem, personal pride, communication skills and personal hygiene. Child Care
Counselors guide students through these areas with individual, hands-on training as well as through
everyday interaction with peers and staff.

RECREATIONAL AND SOCIAL ACTIVITIES

Recreational activities are planned and conducted by Child Care Counselors for afternoon and evening
hours. Activities vary by age and interest and may include, but are not limited to the following:

4-Square Intramural Sports Prom )y
Kickball Swimming Fishing ”*“i
Bowling Roller skating Arts & Crafts =
Volleyball Shopping Hiking -
Dancing Softball ABS Training

Trips to parks Dodge ball Disc Golf

Family Day Out to dinner

Homecoming Hobbies

*For safety reasons, tackle football and baseball (hardball) are not allowed during dorm time.
Students wanting to play catch only with a hard ball must do so in the back of the dorm, on the
field.

STUDENT LIFE PRIVILEGES

When you exercise (use) your rights properly and accept responsibility, you earn privileges. Privileges are
activities you earn; they are not yours by right. This section lists some of the privileges you can earn at
WSD.

FIREBIRD CENTER & CANTEEN:

The Firebird Center is available for socializing and purchasing items from the canteen 0 @2@ or
store. Time is scheduled on a floor by floor basis. Consistently acceptable behavior is ° @ the
key to enjoying this privilege. &

Rules are posted in the Firebird Center.

ROLLER SKATES/ROLLERBLADES/SKATEBOARDS/SNOWBOARDS/ETC:

Roller skates, Rollerblades, Skateboards, and Snowboards require a helmet; all others require protective
covering including helmet, elbow and kneepads.

Students may receive a waiver from their parents for not using elbow/knee pads; however, helmets are
always required. This waiver must be provided to a CCC or CCC-3.

BICYCLES:

High school and Middle school students who have earned the privilege are allowed to
bicycles on campus with parental permission. Bicycles cannot be brought to WSD on the
buses. In order for high school students to ride after dark, bicycles must have the
appropriate reflectors and a headlight. Helmets must be worn while riding.

It is the students’ responsibility to secure their bikes to the bicycle rack or rails.

42



DISC GOLF:

The disc golf course will be closed during sporting events. (This includes practice times.) Please be
respectful of others who will be using the course. When you leave, please make sure the course looks
better than when you started.

DVD & TV USE:

DVD players are located in each of the living areas, the 3rd floor Firebird Center, and 4th floor lobby. DVD
players are used for both learning and pleasure. Staff members will supervise DVD player and TV usage.
“PG-13" movies will not be shown to students less than 13 years of age without signed permission from
their parents. “R” movies will not be shown to any student under the age of 17. Juniors and Seniors who
are not yet 18 must have signed permission from their parents to watch “R” movies.

VIDEO GAMES:

Students may only play age appropriate video games. Staff members will supervise game use.
Inappropriate games will be taken and sent home. Students must have parental permission to play
games that are rated other than “E”.

PAGERS/CELL PHONES:

Students are allowed to have pagers/cell phones after school hours. However, students are not allowed
to use them in the dining room (at breakfast and supper) or after bedtimes. (Elementary and Middle
School students should give them to their CCC before bedtime to be held and/or charged in the office
until the next afternoon.) No live video chats or video phones are allowed in the bedrooms or bathroom
areas. Students who do not comply with these rules will be given an appropriate consequence.

Selfies and the use of video communication (videophone/FaceTime/etc.) must not include other students
in the background without their consent or knowledge. When taking a selfie, the student must be
considerate of the property of Wisconsin School for the Deaf. Neutral backgrounds are strongly
encouraged in order to avoid potential ramifications/consequences of using school/dorm property or
student/staff without their consent.

COMPUTER IN DORM:

All rules from the computer and Internet Use Policy apply. WSD will supply computers on each dorm
floor for student use. Personal computers are allowed on the WSD campus. See pages of the Computer
and Internet Use Policy from appendix.

AUTOMOBILE:

The following rules are required to bring a car on campus: oY

1) No reckless or inappropriate driving on campus. o—90

2) No speeding or going too fast. The maximum speed limit posted on campus by

law is 15 mph.

3) No taking other students in your car on or off campus without proper permission.

4) Inform a Child Care Counselor every time you use your car. You must arrive back at school or
residence hall on time, or as requested.

5) Your car must be parked in the proper place. Students must park in the west end of the west parking
lot.

6) No one can borrow your car, and you cannot borrow another student’s car, even if your parents have
signed permission for it.

7) No student can ride in another student’s car at any time unless both the driver and the rider have
written permission from their parents and a Child Care Counselor. WSD will not be held responsible
for the safety and well-being of these students once they have left our campus.

8) Student must have current insurance as required by Wisconsin State law.

9) Students must first obtain approval from the Deans of Students to receive driving privileges.

10) Permission form, signed by both parents, is required for students to ride in each other’s car.
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Breaking any one of the above rules will have immediate consequences. Any of the following
consequences may occur, depending upon the number of times and/or the severity of the
incident.

1 . Loss of all driving privileges for one week. Car will be kept at home.

2 . Loss of all driving privileges for one month. Car will be kept at home.

3 . Loss of all driving privileges for the remainder of the school year.

OFF CAMPUS PRIVILEGES:

1. Shopping or visiting downtown is a privilege limited to students in grades 7-12 who have demonstrated
they are willing/able to accept responsibility.

2. A parental permission form must be on file in the Student Life office before any student is allowed off
campus without staff supervision. Parents should indicate on the form any restrictions they want placed
on their child's off campus activities. Students 18 and older are legally adults and may sign for
themselves.

3. Participation in school sponsored field trips is covered by guidelines established for school field trips.
4. Sign Out: After normal school hours and on weekends all students must sign out prior to leaving their
residential hall area. A "sign out" sheet is provided for students in an easily accessible area on each
residential hall floor. Please remember you need permission and a pink slip from your CCC before signing
out. Students must include on the sign out sheet where they plan to go, how long they plan to be gone
and who they are going with.

STUDENT LIFE RESPONSIBILITIES

CLEAN ROOM BEFORE GOING TO SCHOOL:

Throughout the school year, we have prospective students and their parents or other visitors come
through the dormitory. WSD is not well represented when we find the students’ bedrooms are neither
neat nor tidy. Thus, it is a requirement for all students to keep their bedroom clean and neat at all times.
Students are required to clean their rooms and leave them neat each morning before going to school.
The requirement or expectations for cleaning the room are: Make a neat bed, sweep the floor, put away
your personal items, pick up clothing from the floor, desk, etc. and put them in the appropriate place.
Clothes in your dresser or closet should be neatly folded and/or hung. Clean your refrigerator, put food
away in its appropriate bag or container. Do not have too many electrical wires on the floor or walkway.

WORK DUTIES:

Every student who lives in the dorm is assigned a rotating work duty. This is in addition to cleaning your
own room. These duties must be completed on time. If you must stay after school you will do your work
duty when you return to the residence hall.

CURFEW:
Students must be on their floor by their designated time.

PERSONAL HYGIENE:
Students are responsible to keep themselves clean, neat and well groomed. Showers are required daily.
Child Care Counselors will assist and advise you.

STUDY HOUR:

Study hour is required daily for all students. Students must stay in their rooms and do
school work during study hour time. (One hour is required for all students; === however,
if homework is not completed during that time, it is the responsibility of each student to complete their
work). Students with high GPA’s may be excused from study hours. See floor rules for details.

Students who have completed their homework or study requirements prior to the completion of study hour
must remain in their room and not bother others.
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STUDENT VISITORS IN BEDROOMS/HALLWAYS:
See rules posted on individual floors.

EMERGENCY PEER HELPERS:

Floor CCCs and CCC-3s may appoint several high school peers who can assist younger students on the
different floors to evacuate the building in case of an emergency. The peer helpers will receive basic
training from their CCCs.

SUPPORT SERVICES

* WSD provides numerous support services to our students. We have a Crisis Intervention team that
we can call at any time for assistance.

* Our school social workers have their offices in the Student Life facility and work during
the evenings, with individual or groups to solve conflict/problems.

e Our Health Center is staffed 24 hours a day and provides various services. ’é}&;! \”\
1V

Also, with parental permission staff will assist students to contact community service organizations or
groups such as Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts and various churches. These services are not associated with
WSD but are available in the Delavan community. Please contact the Deans, CCC-3s, or Principal for
more information.

LOCAL STUDENT RESIDENCY
Student Life Policy

Students living within a 30-mile radius will be considered local students. Due to unique communication
needs, WSD strives to provide local WSD students access to opportunities for increased communication,
intellectual, physical, and social/emotional skills by participating in after school activities and independent
living skills supervised by WSD staff. Residency at WSD provides local WSD students the opportunity to
develop self-esteem via Deaf role models, peer leadership, and development of American Sign Language
skills. Local students are subject to residency limitations and must meet the criteria set forth below:

- Bed availability

- Student to staff ratio

- Acceptable behavior

- Social, emotional, and communication needs
- Distance

Non-residential local students are encouraged to participate in residence hall activities. However, student
to staff ratios will be considered. The Deans of Student Life reserves the right to grant visitation at their
discretion.

The Department of Student Life is not a “baby-sitting service”. If your child is not able to attend regular
school classes, they will not be allowed to stay in the residence hall after school either. If your child
attends only half days of school, she/he cannot be dropped off at the dorm before 3:10PM.

If established student to staff ratios for age groups and special need students are at maximum, local
students applying for residency will be placed on a waiting list. Maximum student/staff ratios in the
residence hall are as follows:

- AED/Special needs 4:1
- Elementary 8:1
- Middle School 10 1
- High School 12 1
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Floor Phone Numbers

Student Life Office hours begin at 8:30 A.M. After school staff hours begin at

3:00 P.M.

Director 262-740-2066
Dean of Students 262-728-7136

262-725-0493 VP
Assistant Dean of Students 262-725-0522
Office Associate/Transportation 262-728-7191
Coordinator 266-725-0489 VP
Student Life Fax 262-728-7184
Behavior Specialist 262-728-7179

262-725-0475 VP
Transition Coordinator 262-728-7161

262-725-0110 VP
Social Worker 262-725-0527 VP
Health Center 262-728-7144 VITTY

262-728-7168 FAX
262-394-1217 VP
262-725-0251 VP
262-749-6733 CELL PHONE

Relay Operator 71
STUDENT LIFE FLOORS
B-1 East 262-728-7179
B-2 262-728-7152
B-3 262-728-7153
262-724-8175 VP
B-4 262-728-7154
262-724-8171 VP
G-1 East 262-728-7161
262-725-0110 VP
G-2 262-728-7162
G-3 262-728-7163
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262-724-8176 VP

G-4

262-728-7164
262-724-8173 VP

CCC-3’S

ELEMENTARY/MIDDLE SCHOOL

262-728-7111
262-725-0112 VP

HIGH SCHOOL

262-728-7111
262-725-0112 VP

=)

enaix
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262-728-7105 Voice/TTY
262-725-0451 VP
262-749-6739 Text
262-728-7129 Fax

NOTIFICATION OF PLANNED SCHOOL ABSENCE

WSD Absence Policy:

Planned absences of one day or more must be pre-arranged one or more weeks in advance of the student’s absence. This
involves submitting this completed form to the WSD Student Attendance Coordinator one or more weeks in advance of the student’s
absence from school. Planned absences not arranged in this manner will be considered unexcused. All unexcused absences will
be handled as a truancy and in accordance to WSD & State policy.

Students leaving school for absences requested by parents/guardians during the school day must sign out in the principal’s
office or with the CCC on their dorm floor during residential hours. Students must also sign in again upon their return to WSD.

Students will be allowed a maximum of 10 days of excused absences during the school year. Students exceeding 10 days of
absence during the school year will jeopardize their promotion to the next grade level. See the WSD Promotion Policy in the WSD
Student-Parent Handbook.

Medical absences of more than 3 days require a doctor’s excuse be submitted to the student’s principal.

Students will be allowed make-up time for completion of missed homework equivalent to the number of days of the
student’s absence

Student(s):

Planned Absence Dates:

Start of Absence

Date of Return to WSD

Reason for Absence:

Transportation Arrangements:
Transporting on regularly scheduled WSD charter transportation
Pick up at WSD

by (whom)
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on (date)

at (time)

Student driving self

on (date)

at (time)

Verification Contact:
Please supply the following information for a WSD staff representative to contact you for verification of
planned absence.

Parent./Guardian Name/Signature

Daytime Phone Number

T
COMMUNITY SERVICE
VERIFICATION FORM

Recognition is awarded to Wisconsin School for the Deaf students who complete the required
32 hours of community service during their 9" to 12" grades (prorated at 8 hours per high
school year). Students who complete more than 32 community service hours will receive a gray
cord to be worn at graduation and a community service seal on their diploma.

Student information:

Name:

Grade: oo o 10" o 11 o 121

Activity Description:

Name of site:

Address:

City: State: Zip:
Contact:

o Pre-approved; activity & hours meet community service criteria. By:
o Denied; activity & hours does not meet community service criteria. By:

o Final approved; verification was completed, activity & hours were met. By:

Total hours of community service completed:

49




Community Rep. Signature: Date:

Student Signature: Date:

Community Service Coordinator: Date:

e COMMUNITY SERVICE
REFLECTION
UPON COMPLETION

The purpose of requiring Wisconsin School for the Deaf students to complete
community service hours is for their own benefit. This form is required in order to
officially graduate and receive a diploma. All students who plan to leave
Wisconsin School for the Deaf through transfer or graduation will be required to
fill out this exit reflection form. Some benefits include but are not limited to learning
to respect others and to understand people who are different; develop personal
leadership skills; become more patient, and gain a better understanding of citizenship.

Please take some time and do a personal reflection with the service you provided.

What did you learn about yourself by doing community service

2.How did community service help you improve yourself?

3.In the real world, what is your next goal for community service?
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Student Signature:
Date:

Guest Pass for Prom

A WSD High School student requesting to bring only one guest who is not a WSD High School student
must have this form completed before purchasing a ticket or bringing the one guest to the event. The
form requires the signature of an administrator of the guest’s school or other similar identification of that
guest. A student’s guest cannot be over 20 years of age or a middle school student. If the student is
not currently in high school, a letter of character reference will be required.

After the presentation of this form to the High School Board, the WSD student will be notified about the
decision regarding bringing this guest.

RESPONSIBILITY STATEMENT
As a WSD High School student, | understand that all school rules apply at school events. | will take the
responsibility to inform my guest of the rules.

Name of WSD student (Print) Signature of WSD Student

Date

Name of WSD student’s Parent (Print) Signature of WSD student’s Parent
Date

GUEST INFORMATION

Name Date of Birth
Street Address City

Phone Emergency Contact

School School Address

If the guest is currently enrolled in another high school, an administrator of that school must complete the
following information.

As administrator of the above listed school, | verify that the student listed as “Guest” is a student in good
standing.
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Signature of Administrator Phone number Date

GUEST AGREEMENT

As a guest, | am willing to follow the policies and procedures of WSD. | understand that failure to do so

could result in being removed from the event.

Name of Guest (print) Signature of Guest Date

WSD Administrator Signature Date

VISITING PERMISSION FORM

WISCONSIN SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF, DELAVAN
Visiting Permission

My daughter/son, ) has invited
(Name) (Dorm floor)

’ to our home on the following
(Friend’s name) (Dorm Floor)

day(s): , , and
(Date) (Date) (Date)

Their transportation will be with

(Parent/Guardian Signature)

***|, the child’s parent/guardian, have made the necessary arrangements with the visiting

child’s parents.

WISCONSIN SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF, DELAVAN
Visiting Permission

My daughter/son, ) has invited
(Name) (Dorm floor)

’ to our home on the following
(Friend’s name) (Dorm Floor)
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day(s): , , and
(Date) (Date) (Date)

Their transportation will be with

(Parent/Guardian Signature)

***|, the child’s parent/guardian, have made the necessary arrangements with the visiting
child’s parents.

TRANSPORTATION PROCEDURES

The basis for weekly home going is to ensure parent/student togetherness. Although it is not
encouraged, the students may visit between themselves and use our transportation when space allows.
Last minute arrangements may be denied. Written permission from parents of both students is required
when students visit each other. (This includes 18 year old students also). (Emergency situations will be
considered). The permission is due in the Student Life Office no later than Wednesday morning
9:00AM prior to the Friday home going.

If your child will not be riding home or returning to WSD via chartered bus/plane, please inform the
transportation coordinator as soon as possible so that any necessary adjustments to the routes/stops can
be made.

During the school year, we have a stay at school weekend in the fall for Homecoming, as well as Prom for
the high school students who wish to attend each spring. These weekends are an earned privilege for
our students. The decision will be made by the Office of Student Life based on student behavior,
compliance, and emotional tolerance of being away from home for a 2 week period. In some cases,
parents may be asked to provide the transportation home. Since these weekends are planned for the
older students, we strongly encourage Elementary students to go home as usual.

If your child has a car and would like for other students to ride with them, they must provide written
permission from the parents of both students to do so. This permission may be “blanket permission” for
the whole school year, or just a one-time permission. Either way, it should be clearly written and sent to
the Office of Student Life.

IMPORTANT BUS/PLANE INFORMATION

DROP OFF: Please plan to be on time or a little early at the designated DROP OFF points. We expect
the parents/pick-up person to get out of the car and greet your student/s at the bus. A chaperone may
have important information to give you. ALL MEDICATION MUST BE GIVEN AND RECEIVED BY THE
CHAPERONE ON THE BUS/PLANE.

Children will not be left alone at the bus/plane stop. If no one arrives to pick-up your child on time,
you or someone on your “Emergency Phone List” will be contacted. As a last resort, Social Services or
the County Sheriff's Department will be contacted.

PICK UP: On pick-up days, please have your child/children to the pick-up point on time. The bus/plane
will wait 10 minutes and then will leave. (It is important to remember that all watches/clocks do not keep
the same time so try to be at the pick-up point a little early).
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NOT RETURNING: Anytime your child will not be returning to school on the bus/plane because of illness,
family emergency, etc., please call the “on call” person at 262/728-7164 from 10:30 AM to 1:00 PM on the
return day. If you call during the afternoon, contact the bus company at 1-800-236-3160.

QUESTIONS/CHANGES: Any question/concerns/changes, etc., please contact the Transportation
Coordinator at 262/728-7191 weekdays from 8:30AM to 4:30PM. You may also contact the same number
anytime to leave a Voice Mail or TTY Message.

ROUTE SHEETS: A route sheet indicating your child’s drop off/pick-up location and times can be picked
up in the Student Life Office on registration day. This transportation schedule will not change unless you
notify us, or we notify you.

MEDICATION GUIDELINES
Health Center Information:
Phone # 262-728-7144
Fax & TTY# 262-728-7168

Management of Medication:

1. Medication should be administered to students by their parents/guardians at home,
whenever possible. In all instances when medication is to be administered at WSD, the
prescribing physician has the power to direct, supervise, decide, inspect and, oversee the
administering of medication.

2. Medication orders/Parental consent:
-The school nurse shall ensure that there is a proper medication order from a licensed, prescriber
at the beginning of each academic year.

-This consent shall include:
A. Name of student
B. Signed/dated order from prescribing physician.
C. Signed/dated authorization of parent/guardian.
D. Physician emergency/business phone/fax numbers.
E. Any known allergies to medication.
F. Diagnosis - why medication given for.
G. Name of medication(s).
H. Dose, frequency, time to administer.
I. Any specific directions for administration.
J. Possible side effects, contraindication.
K. Duration of the prescription(s).

-For non-prescription medications (over the counter), the school nurse will obtain, parental
authorization and follow a standing order, which is cooperatively developed, with the medical
advisor. When WSD'’s Standing Order does not include a particular medication, vitamin, or
supplement, the School Nurse will obtain authorization from a licensed prescriber and
parent/guardian.

3. Medication Administration Plan:

-The school nurse, in collaboration with the parent/guardian whenever possible, shall establish a
medication administration plan for each student receiving medication.

-In accordance with standards of nursing practice, the school nurse may refuse to administer any
medication which, based on the nurse's professional judgment, has the potential to be harmful,
dangerous, or inappropriate. In these cases, the school, nurse will notify the parent/guardian
and/or physician and the reason for refusal explained.

-A student may be permitted to self-carry a medication if his/her physician indicates it is
necessary in writing (i.e. asthma inhaler). Parental permission will also be required. Please
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request an Authorization for Administration of Inhaled Asthma Medications permit from the Health
Center.

4. Handling, Storage, Disposal of Medication:

-All medication should be delivered to the school nurse by a parent/guardian, bus chaperone or
designated responsible adult.

-ALL MEDICATIONS WILL BE IN THEIR ORIGINAL PHARMACY OR MANUFACTURER
LABELED CONTAINERS. ANY MEDICATIONS IN BAGGIES, TUPPERWARE, ETC WILL NOT
BE ADMINISTERED.

-Where possible, all unused, discontinued, or outdated medication will be returned to the
parent/guardian.

5. Information to Parents:

-Medication policies/procedures and forms shall be available in school handbooks.

-A complete medication administration procedure is available upon request from the Health
Center.

6. Medication Supply:

-Long term medications must be supplied by the parent/guardian from home.

-WSD is not responsible for keeping track of, ordering, or paying for long term, prescriptions.
-Short term medications ordered by the WSD physician for minor illnesses may either be provided
by WSD if it is in our stock, or may be ordered through ShopKo. If ordered at ShopKo, parent
insurance or parent pay will be used.

7. Medications for Weekends: Going to Friend's House:

-Whenever possible, medications will be provided and prepared by the parent/guardian and sent
to the visiting parent/guardian's home.

-The parent/guardian will be responsible for notifying the Health Center in a timely manner (within
48 hours) if medications need to be sent with their child to another family's home.

-The parent/guardian is responsible for notifying visiting family of child's medications, medical
history, and any emergency information/plans.

8. Staying in the Health Center:

-If a student stays most of the morning and a portion of the afternoon in the Health Center; they
will not be permitted to leave at 2:30. They must stay in Health Center until suppertime. This will
be at the discretion of the registered nurse on duty.

-If a student stays all afternoon in the Health Center, they must stay in Health Center until
suppertime.

MEDICAL FORMS - GUIDELINES FOR TREATMENT

In order for the Health Center to provide treatment to a student and/or administer medication (either
over-the-counter or prescription), medical forms will be required as follows:

% WSD and/or non-WSD students who participate in the summer school program will be
required to have a Medical Consent and Medication Administration forms on file in the Health
Center. These forms must be dated no earlier than June of that year.

% Medical Consent forms and Medication Administration forms on file for the current summer
school session can be used for the entire following school year.

% All school year medical forms will expire at the end of that school year in June.

% No treatment will be provided to a student who does not have a current Medical Consent form
on file. The only exception is an emergency situation.

% No medication will be administered to a student unless there are both Medication
Administration and Medical Consent forms currently on file. The Health Center staff should
continue any necessary medication such as antibiotics, seizure medication, cardiac
medication, asthma medications, etc. without written verification. Stopping these medications
abruptly could cause harm to the student. Written verification should be obtained as soon as
possible.
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Mo 21

MEDICATION PERMIT

Wisconsin School for the Deaf — Health Center

Ph. 262-728-7144 v/tty 262-728-7168 FAX
Email — health.center@wsd.k12.wi.us

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf requires that your doctor provide instruction (orders) regarding any (prescription
or over the counter (OTC) medication your child takes while at school or school sponsored function. No medication
will be given without written authorization from your doctor and parental/guardian consent.

Child’s Name:

Food/Medication Allergies:

Name of Medication:

Dosage: Frequency/Duration:

What medication is for, any special instructions, possible side effects, adverse reaction, or contraindications?

As the prescribing physician, | have the power to direct, supervise, decide, inspect and oversee
the administration of medication for this child. | agree to have the school nurse contact me
directly with any questions regarding this medication.

Doctor Printed Name Doctor’s Signature
Doctor’s Address Date
Doctor’s Telephone Number Doctor’'s Fax Number

PARENTAL CONSENT:

| have read the above doctor’s order for my child and | agree with it in its entirety. There has been no history of any
allergic or sensitivity reactions to the medication. | understand that the medication needs to be supplied by me in a
timely manner and that the school is not financially responsible for the medication. If there are any questions
regarding the above medication | give my permission for the nursing staff to contact the prescribing doctor.

Date Parents/Guardians signature
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of Inhaled Asthma Medications

& % Health Center

309 W. Walworth Ave. Delavan, WI 53115
Ph #262-728-7144  Fax# 262-728-7168

Student Name:

Date of Birth:

For Completion by Physician:

Physician’s Name: Phone #

Email: health.center@wsd.k12.wius

Fax# Emergency Contact #,

Diagnosis:

Form: Dose:

Name of Medicine:

©000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

OVER-THE-COUNTER (Non-prescription medication):

The Wisconsin School for the Deaf has standing doctor’s
orders signed by our school physician for use in the care of all

Is the child knowledgeable about his or her asthma medication? O Yes O No .
s the child demonstrated the proper tchnique inadministrating medication? 1 Yes ONo students who attend WSD. They are used for minor
Medicine is daily: Time:, O Yes O No

Medicine is administered when needed.

If needed, how soon can administration of medicine be repeated?

The medicine can not be repeated more than

complaints/illnesses/or injuries at the discretion of the nurses
on duty. Examples include Tylenol, Ibuprofen, cough
medication, Maalox, etc.

Side effects/Commenf

| have read the above and understand that the Nurses at

a 1 have instructed

medications.
him/herself.

a It is my

WSD can assess my child and give OTC medications as
ordered by the school physician:

in the proper way to use his/her inhaled asthma
It is my professional opinion that he/she should be allowed to carry and use this inhaled medication by

opinion that should not carry and use his/her inhaled

asthma medication by him/herself.

Physician Si

Date:

For Completion by Parent:

Mother’s Name:

Parents/Guardians signature
Date

Father’s Name:

Mother’s Home Phone #:
Mother’s Work Phone #:

Emergency Phone #:

Is your child authorized to carry and self administer inhaled asthma medication? ] Yes

Father’s Home Phone #:
Father’s Work Phone #:
-y Phone #:

WSD POLICY: Concussion/Head Injury

O No

As the parent of the above named student, I ask that assistance be provided to my child in taking the medicine(s) indicated
above at school by authorized staff. If self-medicating is allowed or if no authorized staff member is available, I ask that my
child be permitted to self-medicate as authorized by myself and my physician. Authorization is hereby granted to release this
information to appropriate school personnel and classroom teachers.

Parent/Guardian Signature:

Concussion Information — When in Doubt, Sit Them Out!
A concussion is a type of traumatic brain injury that interferes with

Date:

normal function of the brain. All concussions are brain injuries. The
WIAA recommends avoiding the use of nicknames like “ding” or “bell ringer” to describe concussion because
those terms minimize the seriousness of concussion. A concussion can be caused by blow to the head or even
a blow to the body alone. The force moves or twists the brain in the skull. It is important to know that loss of
consciousness is not required to have a concussion. In fact, less than 10% of athletes lose consciousness. A
concussion is a very complex physiologic event that causes a problem with brain function, not brain structure.
Therefore, CT/CAT scan and MRI are usually normal in athletes with concussion. Imaging studies may be
needed to rule out brain bleeds, but are not indicated in all head concussions. Even what appears to be a mild
blow to the head or body can cause the brain to suddenly shift or move. This motion can injure and damage
brain cells. Research has shown that this damage may take up to 2 weeks to heal, but it can take longer.

If a player exhibits any signs or symptoms of concussion, the responsibility is simple: remove them from
participation. “When in doubt, sit them out.” The following sports have the highest risk of concussion (in
order): football, boys & girls ice hockey, girls lacrosse, girls soccer, boys lacrosse, wrestling, girls basketball,
girls field hockey, boys soccer, softball and boys basketball. Concussion also occurs away from organized

sports in physical education class, on the playground, while skiing or snowboarding, and when involved in a
motor vehicle collision.

Everyone involved with high school athletics must be alert for potential injuries on the field and be able to
recognize signs and symptoms of concussion. While coaches are not expected to make a diagnosis of
concussion, it is expected for coaches to be aware that their athletes may have a concussion and then hold
them out of all activity until they are medically cleared by a healthcare provider. Signs are what can be seen by
others, like clumsiness, while symptoms are what the injured player feels, like a headache. Remember, athletes
should report their symptoms but they may not unless they are asked and even then it is important to consider
that athletes may not be telling the truth. Thus, it is important for schools to educate their athletes, coaching
staff, and parents in the preseason about the seriousness of concussion and the importance of athletes
honestly reporting their symptoms and injuries.

1. Wisconsin Legislation Affecting Education — AB259 — Concussion & Head Injuries
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Directs DPI in conjunction with WIAA to develop guidelines & information to educate coaches, athletes &
parents/guardians about risk of concussion & head injury in Youth Athletic Activities. (YAA)

Requires annual distribution of concussion/head injury information sheet to each person who wishes to
participate in the activity & prohibits the person from participating until he/she has retuned the sheet signed by
the person (if age: 18 or older) or by the parent/guardian.

Requires a person suspected of sustaining a concussion or head injury in a YAA be removed from the activity
immediately, and may not participate in YAA until evaluated by a health care provider who has been trained in
the evaluation & management of Concussion/Head Injury & receives written clearance to participate from the
health care provider.

2. WSD Responsibilities

Develop guidelines/information to:

Educate Coaches — use CDC resources

annual PowerPoint presentation for all coaches (HC staff)

provide handouts/clipboards/posters/ magnets at Inservices (HC staff)

Educate Athletes — use CDC resources

annual presentation (coaches with HC assistance, if needed)

proper training & prevention (coaches)

Educate Parents — use CDC resources

Parent fact sheet sent annually to all athlete parents with WIAA card (Office staff)

Annual distribution of Concussion/Head Injury info sheet to athletes/parents CANNOT participate in sports until
sheet returned signed by parent/guardian or athlete (if >18 yrs. old).

Action Plan — if concussion suspected:

Remove from play

Evaluate by health care provider

Inform parent/guardian & give concussion fact sheet

Keep out of play the day of injury &

until health care provider says the athlete is symptom free & okay to return to play (as explained in 1c.)

References:
Wisconsin Legislature: AB259
Retrieved from http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2011/related/proposals/ab259

Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (2011)
Concussion information — When in doubt, sit them out!
Retrieved from http://www.wiaawi.org/index.php?id=430

Approved:

WSD Superintendent: (please print)

Signature: Date:

WSD Nurse Supervisor: (please print)

Signature: Date:

School Physician: (please print)
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Signature: Date:

WSD Student Guidelines for Acceptable Use of Technology

The State of Wisconsin is proud to offer its residential school students outstanding opportunities in the field of
computing and assistive technologies. All technology devices are the property of the State and are temporarily
assigned to students for use throughout the school year. Along with access to computers, technology, and to
people all over the world comes the availability of Internet materials that may not be considered appropriate.
Because it is impossible to control all materials available through this global network, school staff and
parents/guardians of minors are ultimately responsible for setting and conveying the standards that students will
follow when using these information resources. The State supports each family’s right to decide whether or not
to allow their child to have access.

Students and parents are responsible for appropriate behavior when using network services. Therefore,
general school/dorm rules for behavior apply. Access to network services is offered to students who agree to
act in a considerate and responsible manner. Based upon the acceptable use guidelines outlined in this
document, WSD Technology Department personnel, school administration and staff may revoke or suspend
user access when these terms are violated. Damage to any technology device will result in disciplinary action
up to and including repair and replacement costs.

Access is a privilege, not a right.

Network Accounts

Students will be provided with a LOGIN ID, password, and individual storage space on the network after WSD’s
Technology Department personnel has received a signed parental permission slip. Please do not share your
username and password with anyone else and do not try to log in using anyone else’s username and password!
You will be able to store all of your work on your file space on the server. You will be able to access your
network account while you are on campus. You will not be able to access your network account off campus. For
this reason, may want to use a flash drive to save your work between home and school. Also, some WSD staff
use Google apps and/or Dropbox in which to share files with students while on campus and off campus. Please
keep in mind that your network storage will be cleared every summer. If you have files that you would like to
keep (documents, pictures, etc.) it is your responsibility to transfer them to a flash drive to save them
permanently.

Individual Email Accounts

Students will also be provided with their own email address. Your email address will be in the following format:
firsthame.lasthame@wsd.k12.wi.us. Students are allowed to distribute their e-mail addresses to family and
friends, but should not distribute their address to people they do not know. You may not use your WSD email
account for the followings; sending viruses to other students or teachers, sending “spam mail” or “chain letters”
or sending very large files, such as videos, movies, or games. If WSD Technology Department personnel learn
that a WSD email account is being used for these illicit purposes, the account may be suspended or deleted
and you may be subiject to disciplinary procedures.

Research

You will be able to browse hundreds of thousands of websites, each containing a lot of information which you
can use in your school projects and personal learning. Remember that the information you view online is
someone else’s work and that it is essential that you respect copyright laws. Plagiarism will not be tolerated
from any student.

File Sharing and Downloading

In recent times, the use of the computer to share music, videos, games and other software has become very
popular. The WSD network does not support file sharing for non-educational purposes; no personal file sharing
is allowed while connected to the WSD network. This includes using peer-to-peer programs like Napster,
LimeWire and Kazaa, using BitTorrent, or sharing non-educational files with other students using USB-Keys or
the server.
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ACCEPTABLE USE:

Students will:

* Use the network for educational purposes such as conducting research for assignments consistent with
academic expectations; and

* Use appropriate language, avoiding swearing, vulgarities, abusive language, or bullying behavior.

e Promptly report abuses/violations of technology equipment/policies

Students will NOT:

* Transmit or receive materials in violation of federal or state laws or regulations pertaining to copyrighted,
threatening or obscene materials, including sexually explicit materials;

¢ Download and install any material upon any computer without prior approval from network administration
personnel;

* Participate in any acts of cyber bullying;

* Use network services for personal or commercial activities, product promotion, political lobbying, or illegal
activities;

e Break into/attempt to break into another computer network;
* Damage/attempt to damage, move, or remove software, hardware or files;
e Send or forward chain letters;

* Subscribe to auto generated mailing/distribution lists of any kind without permission from network
administration personnel;

* Use unauthorized software products;

* Create or share computer viruses;

* Share access to their personal account, or use another person’s network or electronic mail account;
e Maliciously attempt to harm or destroy data of another user;

* Use network resources to otherwise violate the Student Code of Conduct;

* Use Hotmail, AOL, or any email service other than the one provided by the school;

* Use chat rooms or any other instant messaging program;

* Use network, telephone or any other means to circumvent established or intended acceptable use rules.

STAFF ACCESS TO STUDENT DATA

All communications are not private, and may be reviewed by WSD administrators or someone appointed by them, to
ensure that all guidelines are followed. Student access to email and the Internet is not to occur during academic
instructional hours, unless the lesson plan specifically calls for instruction in this area.
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Students are not allowed to create, configure, or maintain personal content or personal web sites on the internet unless
personnel provide direct approval and supervision. Any approved projects must provide school personnel direct access
to all content areas of the project.

All network student areas including storage space, email, and personal computers will be randomly monitored for
inappropriate content. Content believed to be inappropriate will be forwarded to appropriate supervisory personnel for
review and possible disciplinary action.

Students are expected to comply with all Local, State and Federal laws while using technology equipment. In this
respect, school personnel will cooperate fully with law enforcement agencies.

MISUSE OF TECHNOLOGY EQUIPMENT

Misuse of technology/accessibility equipment may result in the suspension of student privileges to use equipment. In
the event a student is denied access to technology equipment due to misuse, the student will remain liable for all
missed work.

* Consequences for misuse of the network and/or equipment and email:
to be determined by WSD administration
PERSONAL EQUIPMENT - Juniors and Seniors Only

Students may request permission to bring their own computers on campus. However, they must fill out, sign and submit
the “Personal Technology on Campus” permission form prior to bringing their equipment on campus. WSD staff are not
responsible for and will not provide technical assistance of any kind for personal equipment except for the following:

Provide cable to connect computer to school LAN jack.
Provide assistance to configure computer for Internet access via school LAN.

Students desiring to connect their personal computers to the Internet must provide:

* Network Interface Card (NIC)
* Network Associates current anti-virus software.
e Original Media for all software installed on the computer.

Students with personal computers will be subject to the same monitoring procedures as students using school
resources. Personal computers will be inspected prior to, randomly throughout and at the conclusion of each academic
school year. Gaming software on personal computer is subject to review and removal where deemed to be
inappropriate (violent, hate, or sexual). Personal computers will not be provided access to network resources unless
the computer is compatible with the WSD operating system. Other operating systems are not being allowed at this time
due to compatibility and filter issues.

Access to outside resources through any means other than through the school LAN is not permitted. Refusal to submit
personal computers/ technological devices for inspection at any time for any reason is immediate grounds for
disciplinary action and forfeiture of future opportunities for use of personal computers or technological devices.

TECHNOLOGY MISCELLANEOUS

During the term of President William J. Clinton, a Federal law was signed commonly referred to as CIPA, which is the
Children’s Internet Protection Act. Simply stated, the law requires any educational institution that receives Federal
funds during participation in certain programs to use Internet filtering software for Staff and Students. Certain types of
services, such as email services, (yahoo, etc.) and certain categories of Internet web sites (pornography, hate,
objectionable, etc.) will be unavailable to network users. No filtering software is perfect — immediately report accidental
access to inappropriate content.
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Violation of the items listed above will result in a loss of access to network services, and may result in other disciplinary
action under the guidelines of the Student Handbook. Additional policies may periodically be added as needed.
Students will receive appropriate notification regarding additional technology policies.

Updated 7/21/14

WISCONSIN SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF
Internet Use Policy

The Internet, a global electronic information infrastructure is a network of networks.
The Internet can be used to educate, to inform, and to entertain. As a learning resource,
the Internet is similar to books, magazines, video, and other information sources. The purpose of

the Internet is to support research and to educate students by providing access to unique resources
throughout the world, as well as providing varied opportunities for collaborative work. The goal of the
residential schools is to make

Internet access available to students for educational purposes. The Internet, when used properly,
is an effective instructional tool.

The State Schools recognize it is not possible to control access to all material on the Internet. It is
possible to access materials that are illegal, defamatory, inaccurate or potentially objectionable. The state
schools believe the Internet provides access to considerably more educationally appropriate information
than it does to materials not consistent with educational goals of the schools. This policy establishes
guidelines for proper use.

On the network, students are expected to abide by generally accepted rules of network etiquette.
These include, but are not limited to, the following:
1. lllegal activities are strictly forbidden.
2. Do not be abusive or offensive in your messages to others.
3. Use appropriate language.
4. Do not reveal your personal address or phone numbers or those of students
or other staff for Internet purposes.
5. Note that electronic mail (e-mail) is not guaranteed to be private. People
who operate the system do have access to all mail. Messages relating to or in support of illegal
activities must, by law, be reported to authorities.
6. Do not use the network in such a way that you would disrupt the use of the
network by others.
7. Users of the network have the ownership of all of their files and messages.
You may not have access to such without the expressed permission of the owner.

The use of the Internet is a privilege, not a right. Access may be revoked at any time for abusive or
inappropriate conduct. Such conduct includes, but is not limited to, the following:

. Any illegal purpose.

. Impolite or abusive language.

. Violating rules of common sense or etiquette.

. Changing any computer files that belong to someone else.

. Using the system for commercial use or personal gain.

. Using someone else's account or misrepresenting one's identity.

. Creating or knowingly distributing a computer virus.

. Using the system to illegally transfer software.

. Revealing personal addresses or telephone numbers of students or staff.

10. Abusing the network to disrupt the use of the network by others.

11. Deliberately or willfully causing damage to computer equipment or assisting
others in doing the same.

12. Deliberately accessing materials that are inconsistent with the school's code of conduct or showing

others how to do the same.

O©COoONOOTRAWN-=-

Users are responsible and will be held accountable for any software damage and

the technician time required to correct any software that has been altered or

damaged. Vandalism of equipment will result in restitution and the removal of

network privileges. It is inappropriate, without prior authorization, to remove any cords, connections, or to
dismantle a computer in anyway.
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Inappropriate use of electronic information can be a violation of local, state, and federal law. Violations
can lead to prosecution. Unacceptable use of the system at the residential schools will result in revocation
or suspension of Internet privileges and/or other disciplinary action.

All Federal Copyright Laws hold true in the use of computers including the following:
A. Users may not load onto a computer or run any software for which the school
does not hold the license.
B. Users may not copy commercial software to share with friends.
C. Users may not copy software off school computers to borrow for use on
their home computer.
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Student Network and Email Permission Form

| have read and understand the Student Guidelines for Computer/Technology Use and
have discussed the rules listed in the policy with my child. | understand that if they do
not follow the policy, they will lose their email and/or computer privileges.

| understand my child will be using computers and have access to the Internet while at
WSD. | realize that WSD is able to provide limited supervision while my child is
accessing the Internet.

WSD has web filtering software in-place and will do its best to block objectionable
material but this system is not 100 percent perfect.

L] | am a student 18 years old or older signing for myself.

Parent Name:

(Please print name clearly)

Signature:

Student name:

(Please print name clearly)
Grade:

Date:
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Wisconsin School for the Deaf
Attn: Joan Knowlton

309 W. Walworth Ave.
Delavan, WI 53115

Rev. 072415

PARENT EMAIL ACCOUNT REQUEST FORM

Parents are able to obtain a First Class email account on our WSD network. If you would like an account
for yourself so that you can communicate with your child via a chat session or with the teachers, please
give us the following information:

Please print clearly:

Your child’s name:

Your full first name:

Your middle initial:

Your last name:

Your current home email address: (we will send the information for the WSD account to this address)

We will send you a link and directions for downloading and installing First Class, as well as your account
information so that you can log in.

Please fill out this form and return it to:
Technology Dept.

Wisconsin School for the Deaf

309 W. Walworth Ave.

Delavan, WI 53115
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If you already have an account, you do not need to return this form.

7/10 IT Dept.

WISCONSIN SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF
PERSONAL TECHNOLOGY ON CAMPUS PERMISSION

2015 - 2016

Student Name: Date:

PARENT SECTION

| (parent) grant permission for my son/daughter to have his/her personal technology on WSD
campus (this includes, but is not limited to, personal computers, tablets, gaming equipment, etc.). |
understand that my child has responsibility for the care and maintenance of the device and is expected to
use it in accordance with WSD’s Acceptable Use Policy. Furthermore, | understand that WSD is not
responsible for loss and/or theft of my child’s device.

Please lists the personal technology information below:
#1

Brand:

Operating System:

Serial Number:

System password:

Antivirus software, kind and version:
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Parent name:

Parent signature:

STUDENT SECTION

| understand the rules for network, technology and email use on campus and will follow them. | will not

allow other students to use my equipment.

Student signature:

Parent signature:

If more than one — please lists other personal technology information back of paper:
#2
Brand:
Operating System:

Serial Number:

System password:

Antivirus software, kind and version:

Parent name:

Parent signature:

#3
Brand:
Operating System:

Serial Number:

System password:

Antivirus software, kind and version:

Parent name:

Parent signature:

#4
Brand:
Operating System:

Serial Number:

System password:

Antivirus software, kind and version:
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Parent name:

Parent signature:

WISCONSIN SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF

Classroom Schedules

DAILY
CLASS START END
Homeroom 7:45 a.m. 7:55 a.m.
15t 7:55 a.m. 8:35 a.m.
2ne 8:38 a.m. 9:20 a.m.
3™ 9:23 a.m. 10:05 a.m.
4" 10:08 a.m. 10:50 a.m.
5 10:53 a.m. 11:35 a.m.
6" 11:38 a.m. 12:20 p.m. Elem. Lunch
7" 12:23 p.m. 1:05 p.m.  MS/HS Lunch
g" 1:08 p.m. 1:50 p.m.
9" 1:53 p.m. 2:35 p.m.
Study Hall 2:38 p.m. 3:10 p.m.
HOMEGOING DAYS
CLASS START END
Homeroom 7:45 a.m. 7:55 a.m.
13t 7:55 a.m. 8:30 a.m.
2ne 8:33 a.m. 9:10 a.m.
3 9:13 a.m. 9:50 a.m.
4" 9:53 a.m. 10:30 a.m.
5 10:33 a.m. 11:10 a.m.
6" 11:13 a.m. 11:50 a.m. Elem. Lunch
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7" 11:53 p.m. 12:30 p.m.  MS/HS Lunch
g" 12:33 p.m. 1:10 p.m.
9" 1:13 p.m. 1:50 p.m.

Bus Departure
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RECEIPT OF HANDBOOK

You have received a copy of the WSD Student Parent Handbook for the 2015-2016 school year. We
have made many changes from the previous handbook and plan to continue to revise and update the
handbook in the future.

We are pleased to provide parents/guardians with a copy of the handbook so that you, as well as
students and staff, are aware of policies and practices as they relate to our children. Inside the handbook
you will find information about academic areas, recreational opportunities, discipline, and reinforcement
programs for both the residence hall and the school. Copies of all WSD policies referenced in this
handbook are available by contacting the Director's office.

Please sign this form and submit it to the Director's Office to signify that you did receive a copy of the
WSD Student Handbook for the 2015-2016 school year.

Thank you very much for your cooperation. We look forward to a successful school year with your
child(ren).

Yes, | did receive and read the WSD Student Handbook for the 2015-2016 school year, and have
read it.

Parent/Guardian Name:

Parent/Guardian Signature:

Student Signature:

Date:
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